CRAFT + DESIGN CENTRE				
С	R	Α	F	Т
Α	С	Т		

Minutes for the Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 29 March 2022 at 6:00pm At Craft ACT, Canberra ACT 2601

1. Welcome and apologies

Conveners: Rebecca Coronel President), Sam Bryant (Deputy Chair & Treasurer (outgoing), Charles Brewer.

Quorum achieved. Apologies tabled. See Annexure A.

2. Confirmation of Minutes for 2021 AGM

The minutes and actions of the board's 2020 AGM meeting were accepted without amendment.

<u>Moved:</u> Jenni Martinello Seconded: Sue Hewitt

3. Financial Report year ending 31 December 2021

Treasurer's report - Sam Bryant

2021 - Challenging - lockdowns and restrictions. Strong financial position at end of calendar year with particularly good retail and exhibition sales.

September 2021 - Board decided to cancel Nov 21 Design Canberra. All 2021 sponsors agreed to present the 2022 Transformation Festival. All funds rolled over and contracts varied to reflect this.

Various grants received for Design Canberra which were rolled over to 2022.

Auditors report - Shaun Coetzee (Vincents)

Endorsed Cash on hand at the end of December growth is cash received in advance (\$330,000 increase).

Note: Members requested an online copy of financial reports.

<u>Moved:</u> Jenny Edwards <u>Seconded:</u> XXXX

4. President's report

The President provided an overview of the President's report contained within the 2021 Annual Report.

2021 a challenging year, particularly the August 2021 decision not to proceed with Design Canberra. Nurture delivered a lot of benefits for members. Board considered extensive risk assessment and made the difficult decision to cancel.

Disappointing that the 50th anniversary was not celebrated. Craft ACT plans to celebrate in future.

2021 - a year of significant change with the departure of Dr Rachel Coghlan who contributed to financial sustainability and relationships with government arts bodies.

Welcome to new CEO Jodie Cunningham.

Acknowledge contribution of Kate Nixon who also recently took up an opportunity in Sydney.

Thank you to outgoing treasurer Sam Bryant and his 6 year contribution to Craft ACT and its financial sustainability.

Moved: Julie Ryder Seconded: Bev Hogg

5. CEO/Artistic Director Report 2021

The CEO provided an overview of the CEO report contained within the 2021 Annual Report.

Welcome to new staff and board members. Thank you to outgoing staff and board members.

2021 - New membership category "Craft and Design Lovers". 68% increase in retail sales from 2020.

Difficult decision to postpone Design Canberra. Launch of Nurture Program including publishing studio stories on Craft ACT website and public art trail and design workshops. 61% new participants of the 603 participants.

Acknowledgement of the passing of the Italian Ambassador.

Thank you to Craft ACT staff, board members, Craft ACT members, sponsors and Arts Minster Cheyne + Arts ACT. Thank you to participants in Craft ACT exhibitions and public programs.

<u>Moved:</u> Valerie Kirk <u>Seconded:</u> Sharon Peoples

6. Election of 2022 Management Committee

Number of nominees did not reach the maximum prescribed by the constitution. No requirement to attend election.

Rebecca Coronel (President), Charles Brewer (Treasurer) Laura Crick (Secretary and Public Officer), Jenny Edwards, Carolyn Forster (fundraising expertise), Isabelle Mackay-Sim (Artist representative), Rod Bobeldjik (Construction expertise), Jenny Edwards, Jenni Martinello (Artist representative).

Thank you and farewell to Graham Humphries, Sam Byrant (Treasurer), Jennie Cameron and David Marshall.

Moved: Sean Booth Seconded: Sari Cohen

7. Other business

There was no other business raised.

President noted call out for exhibitions closing 31 March, CoLAB - supported through Circle of Hands - closing 4 April and Design Canberra 2023 - call out for curated and commissioned programs.

8. Craft ACT farewells

Sam Bryant Graham Humphries - 10 years on the board, wonderful supporter and advocate and key contributor to Kingston Arts Precinct consultation. Jennie Cameron David Marshall Thank you to all current and former staff members.

Meeting closed at 6:53 pm.