Monk's unique approach to composition and piano playing. The collaboration between Monk and saxophonists Coltrane and Hawkins, in particular, is celebrated for its innovation and influence on the development of jazz.

The album is considered a classic in the bebop and post-bop genres and is an essential part of Thelonious Monk's discography. It remains a significant and enduring contribution to the world of jazz.



"Monk's Music" is a landmark jazz album by Thelonious Monk, released in 1957 on the Riverside label. This influential recording is notable for its unique lineup and the exceptional performances of the musicians involved. The septet on this album includes:

Thelonious Monk - Piano John Coltrane - Tenor Saxophone Coleman Hawkins - Tenor Saxophone Ray Copeland - Trumpet Gigi Gryce - Alto Saxophone Wilbur Ware - Bass

Art Blakey – Drums

The album features a mix of original compositions by Monk and interpretations of jazz standards. Some of the notable tracks include:

"Abide with Me" "Well, You Needn't" "Ruby, My Dear" "Off Minor" "Epistrophy" "Monk's Music" is highly regarded for its improvisational brilliance, the distinctive interplay between the musicians, and



Monk's Music Thelonious Monk Septet

1 Abide With Me :51 2 Well, You Needn't 11:17 3 Ruby, My Dear 5:16 4 Off Minor 5:01 5 Epistrophy 10:41 6 Crepescule With Nellie 4:45

Engineer - Ray Fowler Producer - Orrin Keepnews Recorded by Riverside Records in New York, June 26, 1957



Thelonious Monk Septet – Monk's Music



For more info e-mail us: info@highdeftapetransfers.ca or visit our website: www.highdeftapetransfers.ca