



# Sailing Division BROKEN BAY ISLAND SERIES SAILING INSTRUCTIONS - Race 1 3 Island Race Saturday 21<sup>st</sup> October 2023

Start Time:	1100 All Yachts.
<u>Start:</u>	Near the Palm Beach pile and between the RMYC Committee boat and a laid buoy. Communications on VHF Channel 77 or mobile 0422 041 798
<u>Courses:</u>	Start - Lion Island (P) - Dangar Island (P) or (S) - Scotland Island (P) - Finish
<u>Finish:</u>	Finish will be between RMYC tower and a mark laid approx. 300 metres west of the RMYC tower. <b>Note there will be a clearance flag mark on the Eastern side of the line that must be kept to Port.</b>
<u>Accidental</u> Grounding	In the event of a yacht running aground in the Dangar Island area it will be permissible to start the yachts motor to assist off the said grounding point only.
	The said yacht is to sail clear of other yachts and then complete a two turn penalty of 720 degrees to exonerate itself and then continue racing.
<u>Time Limit:</u>	5 hours
Presentation:	Presentation of prizes and notification of results will be held in the RMYC's Lounge Bar approximately 45 mins after the conclusion of the race.
Entry (3 Races):	\$95 RMYC & \$115 Non RMYC Member
	Casual \$30 per race.
<u>Entries:</u>	Online entries must be submitted through Top Yacht Race Management programme at least TWO business days prior to the race. Use link below to Top Yacht <u>https://www.topyacht.com.au/db/kb2/1689</u>
	A boat not entered on time will not receive a placing.
If temporary or overnight berthing is required at RMYC please contact Marina Manager Alasdair Wells on 0418 423 897.	

Note this is essential and early advice would be advisable.

# **BROKEN BAY ISLAND SERIES NOTICE OF RACE**

### 1. THE SERIES

- 1.1 The Broken Bay Island Series consists of 3 races between Pittwater Sailing Clubs and other eligible entrants & Clubs.
- 1.2 Owners of eligible boats are invited to enter on the conditions of this Notice of Race.
- 1.3 The races include Three Islands, Broken Bay Islands and the Island Pursuit.
- 1.4 Clubs compete against each other to hold the Broken Bay Island Trophy.
- 1.5 Unless entered as Non-Spinnaker, Spinnakers and other 'extras' may be used.

# 2. THE RULES

- 2.1 Organising Authority is RMYC Broken Bay.
- 2.2 The series will be governed by the Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) of the International Sailing Federation, the RMYC Sailing Division Sailing Instructions (<u>https://www.royalmotor.com.au/boating-groups/sailing/sailing-instructions-notice-of-race</u>), this NOR and any subsequent modifications.
- 2.3 Boats are required to comply with Special Regulations Category 7, the Boating (Safety Equipment) Regulations of NSW and must hold a current Safety EquipmentCompliance Form.
- 2.4 A boat lodging a Protest must lodge the Protest Form (<u>https://www.royalmotor.com.au/boating-groups/sailing/sailing-forms</u>) or Club Protest Form at the RMYC office within an hour of the last boat finishing. Theboat must advise the Race Officer or the Co-Ordinator of their intention to lodge a protest.

## 3. SCORING

- 3.1 The Broken Bay Island Series winning club is the club with the lowestscore calculated by adding together the scores of the three best boat handicap results of each club per race. Low Scoring system will apply.
- 3.2 Scoring will be in accordance with RRS Appendix A Low Point System Scoringand as amended by the Sailing Instructions.
- 3.3 Handicapping will be in accordance with the handicap system of RMYC SailingDivision.

#### 4. PRIZES

- 4.1 Prizes are awarded to the best performing yachts on handicap.
- 4.2 Presentation of prizes and notification of results for each race of the Series will be approximately 45 minutes after the conclusion of the races.
- 4.3 Prizes not collected at the time will be forfeited to the next placed boat that is in attendance at the presentation.

#### 5. TROPHIES

- 5.1 The RMYC Perpetual Combined (Whizzbang) Trophy will be awarded to the RMYC boat with the lowest point score of the three races in the Broken Bay Island Series on Presentation Night but remain at RMYC.
- 5.2 The winning club will receive The Broken Bay Island Series Trophy, which is perpetual.

