
THE STORY
Come meet some of the most influential and helpful people on 

Catan. They are offering their skills and experience to help you with 
your building plans. This small expansion is suitable for use with 
Catan® and with Catan: Seafarers®.

SCENARIO RULES
Except where noted here, use Catan® rules.

NEW COMPONENTS
You will need all the components included in Catan base game. 

Helpers of Catan™ contains the following components:
• 10 double-sided helper cards
• 1 rules sheet

SET-UP
Set up The Settlers of Catan as normal.
Each helper card has a blue “A” side and a red “B” side. Six of  

the helpers have a number in addition to the letter on their “A” 
side. Make a stack of the six numbered cards, “A” side up. The top 
card is A1 and the remaining cards follow in numerical order (A2, 
A3, etc.).

Place the remaining helpers beside the board to form a display. 
NOTE: Helper cards in the display are always A-side up.

Taking Your First Helper
As soon as you build your second settlement and road in the set-

up phase, take the helper card from the top of the stack and place it 
in front of you with the “A” side up.

Once everyone has their starting helper card, add any remaining 
helpers from the stack to the display beside the board.

USING HELPERS
First, it is important to remember that you will always have 

one (and only one) helper in front of you at all times during the 
game—no more, no less.

Each helper offers you a special advantage. You can use this 
advantage whenever you wish, as long as you follow the 

specific rules for each helper as explained on the back 
of this rule sheet. The helpers’ advantages are also 
summarized on their respective cards.

After Using a Helper’s Advantage
Once you have used your helper’s advantage, you have 2 options:
• 	Keep the helper: This option is only available if your helper 

is “A” side up. Turn the card over to its “B” side and keep it 
in front of you. You can use the helper a second time on a 
subsequent turn. If your helper is already on its “B” side, you 
must use the second option.

• 	Exchange the helper: Return the helper to the display and 
choose one of the other available helpers from the display (no, 
you cannot take back the one you just placed on the display). 
Place your new helper “A” side up in front of yourself.
Example: Mike has the helper “Jean.” He uses Jean’s advantage 
during his turn. The card is on its “A” side, so Mike can either 
flip Jean to the “B” side or exchange her for a different helper. He 
decides to exchange. Mike places “Jean” into the display and takes 
the “Marianne” card from the display, placing it “A” side up in 
front of himself.

Prohibitions
• You can never use a helper card during the same turn that you 

receive it.
• You can never use the helper more than once during a turn.
• When playing with 5-6 players, you may never use a helper 

during the Special Building Phase.
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Here is a full description of all of the helpers and the advantages 
they each give you. The rules printed here are the full rules for  
each helper. The text on each helper card is merely a summary of 
these rules.

The “After use” text at the bottom of each card is identical for all 
helpers. It reads as follows:

“A” Side: After use: You may turn this helper over or exchange 
him/her with 1 from the display.

“B” Side: After use: You must exchange this helper with 1 from  
the display.

Candamir—Use this advantage only 1 time during 
your turn. When you buy a development card, you 
may substitute 1 of the 3 resources with any 1 other 
resource of your choice (for example, wool, grain, and 
lumber). Additionally, when taking that development 
card, instead of drawing 1 card at random from the top 
of the development card deck, draw the top 3 cards and 
choose 1 of them to keep. Return the 2 cards you did not  

	             choose and reshuffle the development card deck.

Hilde—Use this advantage only 1 time during your 
turn. After your production roll has been resolved, 
choose an opponent who has more victory points 
showing on the board than you do. You may look  
at that player’s hand of resource cards and take  
1 resource card of your choice.

Jean—During your turn, choose 1 resource type. You 
may exchange that resource type with the supply at a 2:1 
rate as often as you like during this turn (for example, 
if you choose ore, you can give 2 ore to the supply and 
take any 1 other resource of your choice).

Lin—Use this advantage only 1 time during your turn. 
You may use it before or after resolving your production 
roll. If the robber is on a terrain hex, you may move 
the robber to the desert. After moving the robber this 
way, you receive 1 resource of the type produced by the 
vacated hex (for example, if the robber vacated a hills 
hex, you receive a brick).

	            Note 1: After using Lin’s advantage, you do not get  
	             to take a resource from a player with a settlement 
	             or city adjacent to the desert.

	             Note 2: “Before or after resolving your production  
	            roll” means that once you roll the dice for 
	             production, you cannot use Lin’s advantage until 
	             after you take your resource cards or completely resolve 
	             a “7” roll (depending on what you roll).

Louis—Use this advantage only 1 time during your 
turn. You may remove 1 of your roads from the board 
and rebuild it for free. Louis can only move a road where 
1 of its 2 ends is not connected to any of your other 
pieces (ignore opponents’ pieces when you are checking 
connections). 
 
When playing with Catan: Seafarers: If one of your 

roads is connected at 1 end to one of your ships (as long as this ship 
was built from the other direction), this road may also be removed and 
rebuilt. This road and this ship are only considered “connected” when 
your own settlement is built between them.

Marianne—Use this advantage on any turn. If 
any production roll is not a “7” and you receive no 
resources, take any 1 resource card of your choice. You 
get to use this advantage before any other helper is used 
by one of your opponents.

Nassir—Use this advantage only 1 time during 
your turn. First declare a resource card type (wool, 
for example). Next choose 1 or 2 opponents. Those 
opponents must each give you 1 card of the declared 
type (if they have it). Finally, for each resource card you 
received in this way, you must give the player that gave it 
to you 1 resource card of your choice in return.

Sean—Use this advantage on any turn. When any 
production roll results in a “7,” you may immediately 
use either of these advantages: 
–If you have more than 7 resource cards in your hand, 
you do not have to discard any cards. 
–If you have 7 or fewer resource cards in your hand, you 
may take any 1 resource of your choice from the supply.

Vincent—Use this advantage only 1 time during your 
turn. You may discard 1 knight card to reduce your 
building costs as follows: 
• Either build 1 settlement for 1 lumber plus 1 brick 
• or upgrade a settlement to a city for 2 ore plus 1 grain. 
The knight card that you discard must be one that you 
have already played.

William—Use this advantage only 1 time during 
your turn. When building a road you may alter the 
resources required to build that road. Instead of the 
usual 1 lumber plus 1 brick, you may substitute 
either the lumber or the brick with any 1 other 
resource of your choice (for example,  
1 lumber plus 1 wool).

THE HELPERS IN DETAIL


