
IN IN a game with so many moving parts, it’s not unusual for players to have 

questions about the fine details of how things work. This Frequently 

Asked Questions document (or FAQ) will help you navigate rules and interactions 

you may encounter while playing Disney Sorcerer’s Arena: Epic Alliances.

Entries in this document are first sorted by general rules clarifications, then by character.

If you have further questions, you can post them to the Disney Sorcerer’s Arena: Epic 

Alliances community channel on our Discord server, at https://rebrand.ly/TheOpDiscord .

This is a “living” document, and  will be updated periodically as needed. To stay up to date 

on all the latest  questions and answers for this and other expansions, as well as the Core 

Set, bookmark TheOp.games/DSA in your browser.

Thank you from The Op and the Castle Playtesting Team!
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CHARACTER TOKENS
Q. Do my Character Tokens remain in the Arena 
if the character that created them is KO’ed?

A. Yes. Once placed in the Arena, a Character 
Token is only removed from the Arena if it is 
KO’ed.

Q: Do my Character Tokens earn VPs if they’re 
on VP space at the start of the turn of the 
character that created and/or controls them?

A: No. VP spaces only pay off when the active 
character is standing on them at the start of 
their turn. Character Tokens don’t have a turn, so 
they never have a chance to check if they’re on a 
VP space. And while they may be controlled by 
an ally’s deck and abilities, they’re not actually 
a part of that ally, so the Character Tokens won’t 
collect VPs for being on the VP spaces at the 
beginning of that ally’s turn.

Q: Do cards that allow you to move through 
rival characters (Dash Through Crowds, Charge 
In) allow you to pass through rival Character 
Tokens?

A: Yes. In the case of Charge In, it will even deal 
damage to them, clearing them from the Arena. 

CONSTANT ABILITIES
Q. My character has a Constant Ability. Does 
it work on their own turn? What about on my 
other characters’ turns or the rival Summoner’s 
turns?

A. Constant Abilities are always in effect as 
long as that character is in the Arena,  even 
when it’s not that specific character’s turn. 

Q. My character’s Constant Ability is triggering 
in the middle of the resolution of another card 
or ability. How does the timing work?

A. Resolve the clause/paragraph that would 
cause the trigger, then resolve the Constant 
Ability. Then if the initial card or ability has more 
left to resolve, complete the rest of that card or 
ability.

UPGRADE ABILITIES
Q. My character has an Upgrade Ability that 
appears to behave similarly to a Constant 
Ability. Does it work while my character is not 
in the Arena (KO’ed)?

A. No.  Like Constant Abilities,  the Upgrade 
Ability is only in effect as long as the character 
is in the Arena. 
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ERRATA

THE BLACK CAULDRON
As competitive play has emerged, we’ve 
determined that The Horned King’s The 
Black Cauldron Constant Ability works 
best if it only counts your Cauldron 
Born, rather than all Cauldron Born 
Subsequent printings will be worded 
accordingly.

     ERRATA

GO FORTH AND DESTROY
Move up to 2 spaces.

If you have two or fewer Cauldron Born in the 
Arena, place one in an unoccupied adjacent 
space.

RISE, CAULDRON BORN!
If you have two or fewer Cauldron Born in the 
Arena, place one in an unoccupied adjacent 
space.

Each allied Cauldron Born   deals  1 damage 
to each rival adjacent to them. 

THE HORNED KING’S BATTLE CARDS
To improve the way the Cauldron Born 
mechanism works when multiple teams are 
playing with The Horned King, the wording 
of some of The Horned King’s cards in his 
first printing will be updated in subsequent 
printings. In general, any Battle card that refers 
to Cauldron Born will count only Cauldron 
Born The Horned King’s Summoner controls. 
Wording for specific cards will be as follows:

FEED THE CAULDRON
Banish up to two cards from one Summoner’s 
discard pile.

If you have two or fewer Cauldron Born in the 
Arena, place one in an unoccupied adjacent 
space.

An allied Cauldron Born of your choice   deals 
2 damage to up to one rival adjacent to them.

FEED THE CAULDRONFEED THE CAULDRON

HKG01

THE HORNED KING

Banish up to two cards from one 
Summoner’s discard pile.
If you have two or fewer Cauldron Born 
in the Arena, place a Cauldron Born in an 
unoccupied adjacent space.
An allied Cauldron Born of your choice 

 deals 2 damage to up to one rival 
adjacent to them.
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GO FORTH  GO FORTH  
AND DESTROYAND DESTROY

HKG10

THE HORNED KING

Move up to 2 spaces.

If you have two or fewer Cauldron Born 
in the Arena, place a Cauldron Born in an 
unoccupied adjacent space.
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RISERISE,,    
CAULDRON BORN!CAULDRON BORN!

HKG03

THE HORNED KING

If you have two or fewer Cauldron Born 
in the Arena, place a Cauldron Born in an 
unoccupied adjacent space.

Each allied Cauldron Born  deals  
1 damage to each rival adjacent to them.

©Disney   © 2022 USAopoly, Inc.   

DSA-EX2-TaC_2022_BattleCards_8-24-22.indd   3DSA-EX2-TaC_2022_BattleCards_8-24-22.indd   3 8/29/22   1:26 PM8/29/22   1:26 PM

WRETCHED ARMY
Q. Is the damage dealt by The Horned King’s 
Wretched Army a Direct or Indirect effect?

A. This is an Indirect Effect.

Q. What is the source of the damage dealt by 
Wretched Army, the adjacent Cauldron Born or 
The Horned King?

A. The Horned King is the source of the damage.

©Disney   © 2022 USAopoly, Inc.   
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Standard Move  1  
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THE BLACK CAULDRON
VILLAIN   ◆   MYTHICAL

FORCED MARCH

 Move one allied Cauldron Born up to 2 spaces.

THE BLACK CAULDRON
Whenever you gain , if you have two or fewer 
Cauldron Born in the Arena, place a Cauldron 
Born in an unoccupied adjacent space.

MOVEMENTMOVEMENT

ACTIONACTION

UPGRADE

SKILLSSKILLS

CONSTANT ABILITYCONSTANT ABILITY

THE HORNED KINGTHE HORNED KING
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      Standard Attack  2

668822

At the beginning of each rival’s Starting 
Phase, that rival takes 1 damage for each of 
your Cauldron Born they are adjacent to.

Standard Move  1  

THE BLACK CAULDRON
VILLAIN   ◆   MYTHICAL

2

5

1

2

FORCED MARCH

 Move one allied Cauldron Born up to 2 spaces.

THE BLACK CAULDRON
Whenever you gain , if you have two or fewer 
Cauldron Born in the Arena, place a Cauldron 
Born in an unoccupied adjacent space.

MOVEMENTMOVEMENT

ACTIONACTION

SKILLSSKILLS

WRETCHED ARMY

THE HORNED KINGTHE HORNED KING

CONSTANT ABILITYCONSTANT ABILITY
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CAULDRON BORN TOKENS
(For all general questions about the way 
Character Tokens work, see Character Tokens 
on pg. 2)

Q. Do Cauldron Born tokens deal extra damage 
if The Horned King has the Strong status effect?

A. No. If a card or ability states specifically that 
a Cauldron Born token deals damage, then it 
is the source of that damage, not the Horned 
King. Status effects on the Horned King do 
not impact your Cauldron Born tokens. (This 
may seem to go against the previous aswer 
regarding the source of damage with The 
Horned King’s Wretched Army upgrade ability 
on page 3. However the Core Set rules/FAQs 
establish that when a character’s Battle card or 
Ability card generates damage without citing a 
source, the source is that character by default. 
Since Wretched Army does not specify a source 
of that damage, the Horned King is the source.)

FOUL FOLLOWER
Q. If the 1 damage in the 
second clause of the card’s 
text KO’s a rival and earns 
me VPs, causing The 
Horned King’s The Black 
Cauldron Constant Ability 
to produce a Cauldron Born 
token, can I choose that 
Cauldron Born token for the 
third clause on the card?

A. Yes. Constant Abilities check game status 
and will resolve in between clauses in a card or 
ability. The Cauldron Born token created after 
the second clause is in the Arena by the time 
the third clause is resolved, so it is a legal choice 
for the third clause.

RISE, CAULDRON BORN! 
Q. If the damage dealt by my Cauldron Born 
tokens in the second clause of my card KO’s a 
rival and earns me VPs, causing The Horned 
King’s The Black Cauldron Constant Ability to 
produce one or more Cauldron Born tokens, will 
any new Cauldron Born tokens deal damage as 
a result of this card?

A. No. Since The Black 
Cauldron doesn’t create the 
new Cauldron Born token(s) 
until after the seond clause 
of the card has resolved, 
they won’t deal damage 
this Phase.

FOUL FOLLOWERFOUL FOLLOWER
THE HORNED KING

HKG07

Move up to 2 spaces. 

 Deal 1 damage to up to one  
adjacent rival.

Move up to one allied Cauldron Born up 
to 2 spaces. They  deal 1 damage to up 
to one rival adjacent to them.
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RISERISE,,    
CAULDRON BORN!CAULDRON BORN!

HKG03

THE HORNED KING

If you have two or fewer Cauldron Born 
in the Arena, place a Cauldron Born in an 
unoccupied adjacent space.

Each allied Cauldron Born  deals  
1 damage to each rival adjacent to them.
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PILE ON THE GIFTS
Q. Does “takes damage” 
mean the same thing as 
“is dealt damage”, and can 
that damage be reduced or 
increased by other effects?

A: Yes. The two phrases 
mean the same thing. The 
first printing of this card 
uses inconsistent phrasing. 
The text should read:

  One adjacent rival gains 2 Afraid ,   
2 Immobilized, and 2 Flustered.  Then, that 
rival is dealt damage equal to the number 
of status effects on them.

PREPARE THE SLEIGH and ZERO!
Q: If I play Prepare the Sleigh during my 
Movement Phase, and then play Zero! during 
my Attack Phase, will rivals damaged during 
the first clause of Zero! gain Afraid before the 
second clause on triggers, dealing the extra  
2 damage?

A: Yes . Because it is a 
separate clause, the effect 
of Prepare the Sleigh 
triggers before you check 
for the extra damage 
granted by Zero!’s second 
clause.

RISERISE,,    
CAULDRON BORN!CAULDRON BORN!

HKG03

THE HORNED KING

If you have two or fewer Cauldron Born 
in the Arena, place a Cauldron Born in an 
unoccupied adjacent space.

Each allied Cauldron Born  deals  
1 damage to each rival adjacent to them.
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PREPARE THE SLEIGHPREPARE THE SLEIGH

JSK08

JACK SKELLINGTON

Move up to 3 spaces.

Until the end of this turn, whenever a 
rival is dealt damage,  they gain your 
choice of 2 Afraid or 2 Immobilized.
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JSK07

ZERO!ZERO!
JACK SKELLINGTON

 Deal 1 damage to each adjacent rival.

 Deal an additional 2 damage to each 
adjacent rival with Afraid.
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TIM BURTON’S THE NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS
HERO   ◆   MYTHICAL

STRANGE GIFTS
Discard a card from your hand to  move a 
Status Counter from a status effect on one 
character to  a Status Effect Token on one of 
that character’s allies.

MOVEMENTMOVEMENT

ACTIONACTION

UPGRADE

SKILLSSKILLS

JACK SKELLINGTONJACK SKELLINGTON
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      Standard Attack  2

Standard Move  2

Once on each of Jack Skellington’s turns, 
when adding or moving a Status Counter 
to a status effect, you may put an additional 
Status Counter on it.

55101022

2

2

5

1

TIM BURTON’S THE NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS
HERO   ◆   MYTHICAL 

STRANGE GIFTS
Discard a card from your hand to  move a 
Status Counter from a status effect on one 
character to  a Status Effect Token on one of 
that character’s allies.

MOVEMENTMOVEMENT

ACTIONACTION

SKILLSSKILLS

SANDY CLAWS

JACK SKELLINGTONJACK SKELLINGTON
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ERRATA

MOTHER GOTHEL’S VP VALUE
As competitive play has emerged, we’ve 
determined that Mother Gothel plays 
more competitively at 5 VP rather than 
the 6 VP shown on her Character Ability 
Card and Turn Order Token in her first 
printing. Subsequent printings will 
show Mother Gothel’s VP value as 5 VP.

EXERT CONTROL
Q. The second clause on 
Exert Control does not 
have a specified range, 
and it doesn’t state that 
the Princess characters 
must be adjacent to Mother 
Gothel. Does this mean this 
effect has unlimited range?

A: Yes. (see Unspecified Range in the Disney 
Sorcerer’s Arena: Epic Alliances Core Set FAQ, 
available at TheOp.games/DSA)

Q. Does the second clause of Exert Control deal 
damage to Princess characters on my team?

A: Yes.

DIRE DILEMMA
Q: Dire Dilemma has three options for my 
opponent to choose from. If Mother Gothel is 
already at maximum HP, can my opponent 
choose the option that restores HP to her?

A: Yes . Your opponent 
can choose any two of the 
options, including options 
that won’t actually do 
anything in the moment. To 
get the greatest impact for 
your play, timing is critical 
with this card.

Q: The third option on Dire Dilemma does not 
have a specified range, and it doesn’t state that 
the rivals must be adjacent to Mother Gothel. 
Does this mean this effect has unlimited range?

A: Yes. (see Unspecified Range in the Disney 
Sorcerer’s Arena: Epic Alliances Core Set FAQ, 
available at TheOp.games/DSA)

EXERT CONTROLEXERT CONTROL

GTL04

MOTHER GOTHEL

 Deal 3 damage to an adjacent rival. 

 Deal 1 damage to each Princess 
character in the Arena.

Mother Gothel recovers 1  for each 
character dealt damage this phase.
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DIRE DILEMMADIRE DILEMMA

GTL06

MOTHER GOTHEL

Choose a rival Summoner.
They choose 2:

 ◆ Banish a random card from their hand.

 ◆ Mother Gothel recovers 3 .

 ◆ Mother Gothel  deals 1 damage to 
each character on their team.
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Standard Move  2
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TANGLED
VILLAIN   ◆   KINGDOM

MOTHER KNOWS BEST
Reveal the top card of a rival Summoner’s 
deck. If the rival character matching that 
card is adjacent to Mother Gothel, their 
Summoner may choose to banish that card. If 
they do not, Mother Gothel gains 1 Stealthy.

MOVEMENTMOVEMENT

ACTIONACTION

UPGRADE

SKILLSSKILLS

MOTHER GOTHELMOTHER GOTHEL
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      Standard Attack  2

Standard Move  2

5522

1

2
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5

Immediately after upgrading Mother Gothel, 
choose a rival Summoner to reveal their  
hand. Choose and banish up to two  
revealed cards for the same character.

MOTHER KNOWS BEST
Reveal the top card of a rival Summoner’s 
deck. If the rival character matching that 
card is adjacent to Mother Gothel, their 
Summoner may choose to banish that card. If 
they do not, Mother Gothel gains 1 Stealthy.

TANGLED
VILLAIN   ◆   KINGDOM 77

MOVEMENTMOVEMENT

ACTIONACTION

SKILLSSKILLS

CRUSH DREAMS

MOTHER GOTHELMOTHER GOTHEL
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