

# THE 2024 DOROTHY HEWETT AWARD OPENS FOR SUBMISSIONS





The 2024 Dorothy Hewett Award is calling for submissions from writers across Australia who have an unpublished manuscript and are seeking publication.

The work must be fiction, narrative nonfiction or poetry, inclusive of hybrid genres such as verse novels or memoir. The winner will receive a cash prize of \$10,000, courtesy of the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, and will be offered a publishing contract with UWA Publishing. The 2024 Dorothy Hewett Award is accepting submissions for the month of November 2023.

The judges for the 2024 award are Tony Hughes-d'Aeth, Astrid Edwards, Thuy On and Kate Pickard. More information on the judges can be found below.

In 2023 the judges announced Kirsty Iltners as the winner for her unpublished manuscript *Depth of Field* which will be published with UWA Publishing in 2024. Previous winners include Brendan Ritchie's *Eta Draconis*, Josh Kemp's *Banjawarn*, Kgshak Akec's *Hopeless Kingdom*, Karen Wyld's *Where the Fruit Falls* and the inaugural winner, *Extinctions* by Josephine Wilson, which went on to win the Miles Franklin Literary Award.

Dorothy Hewett (1923-2002) is considered one of Australia's most important writers, her work challenging the norms of 20th century Australian culture. For submission guidelines for the 2024 Dorothy Hewett Award visit the UWA Publishing website. UWA Publishing is committed to publishing a wide range of voices and encourages those from diverse backgrounds to submit their work. Submissions will open on Wednesday 1 November 10am AWST and close Thursday 30 November 2023 at 5pm AWST, with the shortlist to be announced early next year.

UWA Publishing sends a warm thank you to the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund for its ongoing support for the Dorothy Hewett Award, and wishes all entrants the best of luck!



For all enquiries contact UWA Publishing's marketing department

MAIL M419, 35 Stirling Hwy, Crawley WA 6009, Australia TEL +61 8 6488 3670

TEL +61 8 6488 3670
EMAIL marketing-uwap@uwa.edu.au

WEB www.uwap.com.au SOCIAL @uwapublishing

## MEDIA RELEASE UWA Publishing

The 2024 Dorothy Hewett Award judges are as follows:

#### **CHAIR**

### Tony Hughes-d'Aeth

Tony Hughes-d'Aeth is the Chair of Australian Literature at The University of Western Australia and Director of the Westerly Centre. His research has a particular focus on literature and the environment. His book *Like Nothing on this Earth: A Literary History of the Wheatbelt* (UWAP, 2018) won the Walter McRae Russell Prize for best work of Australian literary criticism in 2019. His first book *Paper Nation: The Story of the Picturesque Atlas of Australasia, 1886-1888* (MUP, 2001), won the Ernest Scott and WK Hancock prizes for Australian history. His next book *Netflicks: Conceptual Television in the Streaming Era* will be published by UWAP as a part of a new *Vignettes* series in February 2024.

#### **JUDGES**

#### **Astrid Edwards**

Astrid Edwards is a bibliophile. She teaches in the Associate Degree of Professional Writing and Editing at RMIT University and hosts two literary podcasts - The Garret: Writers on Writing and Anonymous Was A Woman. Astrid is also the Chair of Melbourne Writers Festival and serves on the Victorian Disability Advisory Council. A longer bio can be found at astridedwards.com.

#### Thuy On

Thuy On is an arts journalist, editor, critic, and poet. She's currently Reviews Editor and writer for online publication, ArtsHub. *Turbulence* (UWAP 2020) was her debut collection of poetry. *Decadence*, her second collection, was published by UWAP in 2022 and longlisted for the Stella Prize.

#### **Kate Pickard**

Kate Pickard is the Publishing Manager at UWA Publishing and has worked in the publishing industry for over twenty years in both Melbourne and Perth.



For all enquiries contact the UWA Publishing marketing department

MAIL M419, 35 Stirling Hwy, Crawley WA 6009, Australia TEL +61 8 6488 3670

+61 8 6488 3670

EMAIL marketing-uwap@uwa.edu.au

WEB www.uwap.com.au SOCIAL @uwapublishing