





UB hat is Scale-appropriate?

It is axiomatic thar it’s not appropriate for a theater commander to
make deployment decisions for each brigade in the army along the
entire front. Historically that would not be possible or desirable.
That's just not the role of the theater commander. However, we
gamers tend to find it natural, because that is how we've grown
accustomed to playing.

Bringing that question to Four Lost Battles, we have seen that
Ney was not even aware of the situation across the whole battle-
field of Dennewitz, and made the decision to shift Oudinot’s
Corps at the critical moment based on the perspective of a brigade
commander. Vandamme didn’t know who he was facing or what
his own reinforcement schedule was. We added hidden movement
to avoid the effects of roo much “eye in the sky” and hidden
reinforcement cards to deal with the unknowns in force structures.

Normal wargames grant the playets instant access to all this
information and also provide instantaneous and perfect command
and control of all friendly forces. It took a finely-tuned headquar-
tets and a determination not to wade into the battle sword in hand
(like Ney) to obtain good information about the conditions on all
parts of the battlefield. It rook dozens of aides de camp coming
and going constantly to insute the flow of information and orders
back and fotth to headquarters. Even with perfect “order accep-
tance” there still had to be a time-lag between the receipt of the
latest info ar headquarters and the execution of the next set of
orders; such that any orders would be out of date and irrelevant by
the time they arrived, and only a formed reserve or a unit not in
contact could be controlled remotely. Hence, at times the Army
Commander has to intervene on the spot if he wants to influence
events on the ground.

The Army Commander, represented by the player, in reality
had no ability to affect the deployment of his forces once they
were engaged with the enemy unless he chose to go there in
person. But if he made that choice, he had to do so in the hopes
that he was in the terrain that would allow for a decisive stroke. It
was common for a general to assume that the most important
events were taking place in front of him. (Napoleon at Jena has to
be the best example of that, since it took hours, even after the
battles had died down, for Napoleon to be convinced that Davout
had faced the bulk of the Prussian army at Auerstadr.)

It is clear, then, that the overall commander has little or no
control over whar happens when one of his brigades engages an
enemy brigade. All he can do is line them up and point them in
the right direction. This fact runs counter to the fighting spirit of
the grognard, but he should not rake the model of the passionate,
aggressive, but often ignorant Marshal Ney. He had better concern
himself with intelligence, command and control. That is where we
have put the focus.

—Kevin Zucker

K:ltzbach Scenario: 2PM

By mid-afternoon the French forces committed to crossing the
Katzbach had reached their furthest advance, while Bliicher had
his forces in position to attack. Petre estimates the French forces
on the plareau at 27,000 men; Bliicher had 38,000—Yorck’s
advanced guard between Bellwitzhof and Christianenhahe, his
main body in two columns; Sacken on Yorck’s right, moving on

Eichholz.

Duration: 14.00 - 20.00 hrs. (with possible Second Day).
First Player: French Player moves first.

Card Decks, Victory & Special Rules: as per regular scenario
rules.

Mode Cards at Start: none

French Set Up:
4HCD (0614)
2HCD (1116)

191D (1023)

161D (1123)

351D (1122)

8ID (1617)

41.CD (1614)

361D (1714)

2LC (2012)

Vedettes (1615,1616)
Souham and III Corps stacked on road between 0413 - 0915.

Coalition Set Up:

RUSSIANS:

Langeron, VI, IX, X (1224, 1223, 1323)
LC (1125, 1321)

Korff (1326)

Karpov CB (2213)

XI(2015)

Arty (2116)

Wassilchikov’s Cav Corps (2017)

PRUSSIANS:

81B (1718)

21B (1818)

71B (1817)

11B (1919)

Jurgass, Prus. Res. Cav (2019)

Katzeler, Henkel, Bieber, and Yorck (1917)

Any small units and arty unspecified: place somewhere adjacent to
friendly units of their formation.'

Reinforcements: as per 22.23-22.26 in the regular scenario rules
(less units already in play).

Notes

' Source: Nafziger, Napoleon ar Dresden, The Battle at the
Weinberg Defile, p. 60; map, p. 54 €
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in the Supply Segment and at the end of the Recovery Segment.

* The intro to the Supply rules says to check supply in the
Recovery Segment.

* The rules say to have a Recovery Segment in the 0100 turn, but
they don’t say anything about a Supply Segment, and the night
Recovery Segment doesn’t specifically say to check supply.

A) Yes, check in the 0100 turn
NOTE: This fact is listed on the TRC for the 0100 turn

Katzbach French Reinforcements, 1400 turn.
The note with the 29th Division should refer to 22.24, not 22.23.
Bring the 29th LC in with all the other units of the XII Corps.

Kulm, French, 23.25 (3)
St Cyr has 13 units, not 12.
23.25 (4)

Latour has 9 units, not 8.

Dennewitz Coalition Reinforcements, 1500 turn

AvG = 3 units, 21st =1 unit, total 4 units. 1700 reinforcements,
Prussian III/Art should be excluded as per the note at the end of
the Reinforcements. 1600 Reinforcements, the Baggage Train
appears with Woronzow.

11.68 Bombardment

The example states that up to 3 units may be lost from a Bom-
bardment, actually the charts max out at 2 units.

11.63 Determine the Line of Sight

Cases A, B, A, B, should read A, B, C, D. Furthermore, regarding
11.63C describing the LOS Exceptions, do the reciprocal situa-
tions also allow an unimpeded LOS?

A) Not necessarily.

9.13 Tratns

Trains may not enter an EZOC 9.12 says that trains can’t enter
slopes except on roads or cross streams except at bridges, and 1.4
says artillery units move like trains. I read these sections together
to say that artillery can’t enter an EZOC, enter slopes except on
roads, etc. Correct?

A) Incorrect about the EZOC.

16.52 Cavalry Charges

The last section (4) states:“ If the result on the shock CRT is other
than Dr or De, the cavalry unit is eliminated.”

So if the Shock result is an Ex, is the cavalry elimination counted
towards the losses of the Exchange (like in 16.52-3) or is the unit
eliminated BEFORE counting the losses toward the Exchange?

A) YES THAT: the cavalry elimination is counted towards the
losses of the Exchange (like in 16.52-3)

I would rather use this rule: The cavalry has to retreat 2 hexes, and
the attacker can advance into the first vacated hex (more elegant).
A) Proposed House rule is o.k.

If 'm playing everything right, the French cannot mount an attack
on Grossbeeren without going out of supply (they have no
baggage, and the town is well beyond any ten hex path to a
printed supply source).

A) The French have all their Baggage with their Corps.

Card 27 (Delay - March Confusion)

Player B is the second Player. Player A’s reinforcements already
entered this turn and were involved in combat, inflicting losses on
Player B’s units. Are Player B’s losses replaced? What happens if
there was an advance after combat?

A) If player B plays card 27, it affects a force that “entered the
map... this turn”. Meaning, you pick up the forces that entered
during player A’s turn, and take them out of play. As the French in
this scenario, I HATE card 27 worse than anything.

If a force enters AND is involved combat that same turn, I'm
not sure what to do. But in Katzbach, at least, that isn’t likely to
happen. You could house-rule it that once a force has participated
in combat, it cant be affected by card 27...

A) You are right, but we tried it both ways and either way works. I
prefer the first way (above), because I am a meanije.

If it does happen that recalled troops are engaged (possible, I
think, only in Kulm), take out the reinforcements and erase all the
results of their phantom combat.

According to our latest Update we have taken out 2x “Delay-
March Confusion from the Coalition deck, and put back in the 2x
“Commander Arrives.” For Play balance purposes I would like to
take out all 4 of them but that is impossible to justify given the
facts on the ground.

19.43 Reinforcements

Does this rule mean the Reinforcements must enter in Road
March formation?

A) They can enter in road march or not. But there still has to be
some order to their arrival. You determine the order of arrival of a
formation according to 19.43.

Combining Bombardment and Regular Attacks

I've got a stack of French units ready to storm over a bridge.
They’re opposed by a weak-ish cavalry force. There’s a stack of
French artillery nearby that bombard the defender’s hex. They get
a DR result. The cavalry falls back. Can the attacking French force
advance into the now unoccupied hex?

At first I thought, no, they can’t advance, but when the cavalry
resumes its defensive position, it’ll have to attack this big, doubled
stack in turn. But no... ZOC’s don’t extend over bridges.

How should this work?

A) That is a good question, not answered by the rules. Assume
that the “Dr” was (partly) the result of the (unresolved) regular
combat. The Attackers get to do a normal advance after combat
(normally one unit only may advance).

Lecs forget the artillery, and say the defending cavalry retreats
before combat. On their turn, they can walk back up and block
the bridge again? So unless you have cavalry that’s faster than the
defending cavalry (or have enough guns to eliminate them
entirely), your infantry CANNOT storm the bridge!

A) We have to assume that the attackers will notice the cavalry
withdrawal, and because of the importance of the bridge they
would certainly sieze it if it was left undefended even if only for
less than a whole turn. This forms an exception to 16.2 which
prohibits advance into the vacated hex.

Spring 2007 &  Wargame Design 5




























































