
Napoleon’s Resurgence 
UPDATE   23 February 2022 
Note: The version number of the Study folder can 
be found in the lower right corner of page 22. 
 
ALL EDITIONS 
Use these items with all versions of the Study Folder: 
 
COMBAT TABLES  
(on back cover & Casualty Track) 
• CRT (change): 1:1.5 column results are reordered: Dr-Dr-
Sk-Ar*-Ar-Ar2 
• CHARGE CRT (change): “reducing 1 or 2 units as 
indicated).” 
 
WEATHER TABLE 
• In the Trains column, remove “Pontoon: No Deploy” from 
the Rain row and add it to the Thunderstorm row. 
 
COUNTERS, COALITION 
• Russian II Corps/Panchulidzev. The counter is misspelled. 
(Ivan Davydovich Panchulidzev). 
• Coalition Vedettes of Mixed nationalities: IV/Königin and 
IV/Oppen cavalry units—each has one Prussian and one 
IV/Cos Russian vedette attached. 
 
SET-UP, COALITION 
• On 5.20.13 and 5.21.13, AG/Rudzevitch and L/Scherbatov 
are not reduced. Set-up at full strength. 
 
MAP 
• Bau-N: 3033-3134 a trestle is missing; in similar situations, 
assume there is a trestle. 
 
TRC, KÖNIGSWARTHA - BAUTZEN MINI-CAMPAIGN  
2PM: YORCK/II (less Hunerbein’s 3 units)  
7AM: III/Arty Tamissier and Tamissier-b enter as reinforce-
ments on May 20th at 07:00. 
 
CARDS 
General Retreat card (No. 9) (clarification-addition): It is 
not necessary to have a General Retreat card to declare a 
General Retreat. The GR card may be played as 
“Inapplicable” for its MA alone, like a Tactics card (18.83). 
 
STUDY FOLDER 
25.73 (replace existing rule): Release of French Imperial 
Guard: Units of the OG, YG* and GC Corps may not 
voluntarily engage prior to Coalition General Retreat 
declaration. EXCEPTION: * one whole YG Div (either 1YG 
or 2YG) may engage freely at any time (per historical usage). 
 
27.32 March Orders at Start: The IV and VI Corps 
mentioned are French, and the VI Corps units enter only in the 
Mini-Campaign. 
 

28.2 Alternate Reinforcements 
COALITION 
#1. For the two Cossack units use Illowaisky (2-3-7) and 
Karpov II (1-3-7), both with yellow initiative. 
 
28.35 Marshal Soult: Marshal Soult was ineffective at the 
battle of Bautzen (due to contradictory orders) and should be 
removed from play. Soult is no longer used in any scenario. If 
players wish to keep Soult in play, then he may only place the 
IV Corps in command (plus one other unit).  
 
Eugen is now a commander at Lützen and 
Bautzen.  
 
28.36 Roadblocks 
During the development of Napoleon’s Resurgence, we 
encountered the question of Coalition roadblocks. A 
roadblock represents a physical obstruction (such as an 
abattis) plus a battalion more or less. We knew they had some 
roadblocks at Bautzen, especially along the Spree. But we 
decided they weren’t critical, and so they were omitted.  
Add 12 Roadblocks to the Bautzen Coalition initial set-ups, in 
any allowed hex east of the River Spree (28.37). 
A roadblock is built by an infantry battalion with tools. (We 
can imagine the troops moving out after their work is done.) 
Roadblocks have a combat strength of 1 but may never attack. 
Roadblocks are static, immobile and “unable to retreat 
fully/PEU.” Enemy units may not enter a hex containing a 
Roadblock counter. A roadblock is blocked to French and 
Coalition alike, including movement, retreats, supply lines and 
Command Radius. A roadblock at a bridge may be cleared by 
units crossing the bridge (28.36d). 
 
a) Roadblock Construction: Each army can construct up to 2 
roadblocks at start and 2 each Night PM turn, at least 3 hexes 
from the nearest enemy unit, and within 2 hexes of a friendly 
infantry unit (in both cases tracing only through terrain 
passable to infantry). Roadblocks may only be placed in a road 
or trail hex at a defile—either end of a bridge, in a town, slope 
hex, or woods, and must be pointed toward the defile hexside. 
Construction is automatic—simply place the Roadblock 
Marker with the red arrow pointed toward the blocked defile. 
You may build up to two roadblocks in a hex, each pointing to 
a different defile hexside. 
 
b) Reconnaissance against Roadblocks: Roadblocks are 
placed face down until revealed by recon (8.3) or Repulse 
(9.12). The roadblock is treated as "no cav" on the 
Reconnaissance Table. A repulse is resolved as a regular 
combat, with no column shift (9.22).  
 
c) Roadblock ZOCs: A face- 
down Roadblock marker has a ZOC into 
all adjacent hexes. The 5 non-defile 
hexsides are revealed as non-controlled 
only when the Roadblock marker is face-
up, leaving one actual hex of ZOC. 
Friendly units may stack with the 
roadblocks—their ZOCs are unimpaired.   
 
d) Clearing a Roadblock: To clear a roadblock, an enemy 
infantry unit must attack it through the defile hexside. It can 
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also be cleared automatically by a friendly infantry unit in the 
same hex. The attack is resolved on the Combat Results Table. 
Do not use Shock for combat vs. Roadblocks. A Shock, retreat 
or 1R result for the roadblock means it is cleared. A cavalry or 
artillery unit without infantry cannot attack (or bombard) 
through the defile hexside, but may attack from non-defile 
hexsides. If no infantry units attack through the defile hexside, 
at the same time, that roadblock is not removed. 
 
e) Defending a Roadblock: There are no additional terrain 
effects on combat for units stacked with a roadblock. The 
defense strength of the roadblock is added to the total combat 
strength defending the hex, unless no infantry attack through 
the roadblock hexside. Cavalry Charges are not permitted 
against a roadblock. 
 
28.65 Control: VP locations on the BAU map sections are not 
counted—not even if using the Spoiling Attack (28.68) option. 
 
Version 3.05 
Use this item with version 3.05 of the Study Folder: 
28.34 Marshal Ney: Ney remains a [1] Commander. 
 
VERSIONS 3.0-3.03 
Use these items with versions 3.0 & 3.03 of the Study Folder: 
 
STUDY FOLDER 
28.17 Improved Positions at Start (add): 
In addition, the Coalition Player may place up to five more 
I.P.s in any Friendly-occupied hexes. 
 
28.2 Alternate Reinforcements 
FRENCH 
#1. SEBASTIANI/IIC (not V/17th I.D.—already in play) 
 
28.52 Mode Cards at Start:  
Mode cards have to be drawn at the start of each day, on the 
first daylight turn. Apply them, as explained in 24.0. For the 
French, “Late Start” is in effect (28.67). Card No. 2 counts 
toward the total of 3 French Mode cards specified. Reshuffle 
the Mode Cards each night at 9 PM. 
 
28.64 March Orders at Start (add): In addition, all Coalition 
forces on the Kön map at the end of May 19th, 8PM have a 
pre-programmed March order—taking effect immediately—to 
any location or locations, of the Coalition Player’s choice, on 
the BAU-N map. 
 
28.67 French Late Start (Card No. 2): 
French Card No. 2 (Late Start) is in effect at start. Follow 
instructions on the card. Remove card from the deck and place 
it beside the map face up, to denote its enduring effect. (This 
rule replaces “Undeclared Truce Day.”)  
 
29.5 Hoyerswerda 
French General Oudinot has a Late Start in effect at start. 
Place Card No. 2 face-up near the map.  
 
29.59 Victory Conditions: VPs are earned as per 26.1. 
EXCEPTION:  The Coalition player receives the VPs shown 
at the end of each French Player turn that Coalition units 
control that hex. 

 
VERSION 3.03 ONLY 
Use this item with version 3.03 of the Study Folder: 
 
STUDY FOLDER 
27.63 Replace the end of the paragraph: “or at a point further 
back on the line of march at the Coalition Player’s choice,” 
with the following: “Since only the Coalition player can see a 
convergence coming, he must place his forces on the map at 
the moment French units would have a line of sight to them.” 
 
VERSION 3.0 ONLY 
Use these items with version 3.0 of the Study Folder: 
 
STUDY FOLDER 
25.13 Nationalities: Saxony (chamois with a white stripe). 
 
26.3 Exiting the Map 
Either Player may choose to exit his units by playing the 
“General Retreat” card once per day. On the Coalition side, a 
General Retreat Order can be given to: all forces; only the 
Prussian Corps; only the Russian Corps; or only Barclay’s 
Army at Bautzen (AG, L, and Res). 
 
27.6 Lützen Mini-Campaign Set-up 
27.63 Reinforcements: After choosing his deployment center, 
the Coalition player must secretly assign a March Order to all 
of his Reinforcement Forces scheduled to arrive before Noon 
on May 2nd. These forces don’t appear on the map until the 
deployment chit is revealed. They are assumed to be moving 
toward their assigned destination and are placed at a distance 
from their entry depending on the amount of time they have 
spent on the map. They may use Road March or not. The force 
sets up wherever it is removed from the March Order (20.23). 
Since only the Coalition player can see a convergence coming, 
he must place his forces on the map at the moment French 
units would have a line of sight to them.  
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