LODI—A Bridge and Some Fords

Andrew Hobley
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Playing this game has been badly interfered with by life; so annoying when it gets in the way of wargaming.
Lodi was played a while ago, then Castiglione, but the Lonato mini-campaign has been on my table for a
month with not a counter moved. | know, must try harder.

For Lodi we have the river Adda bisecting the map from top left to bottom right. There is a ford in the Bosco
Complot, near Buffalora north-west of Lodi, another in the Bosco Mairano, near Corte di Palasio south-east of
the town and one at Port-di-Cavanago, perilously close to Rubbiano, one of the Austrian entry/exit hexes. And
there is a bridge. At Lodi. Sometimes a picture is easier than a description —

North of the river the terrain is fairly flat, with a couple of
streams between Lodi and the Austrian entry/exit and
supply hexes. The Austrian supply source is the road in the
top right; obvious if you look, but something | only realised
part way through.

The Austrians start with Sebottendorf and three Austrian
artillery units sat on the causeway. Most of the rest of |
Corps is marching away under Beaulieu. Vosckivich’s rear
guard is on the French side of the river to the south-west,
the 2 Hussars and the baggage train are in the town. The
leaderless French are scattered along the road to the town.

The Bridge at Lodi—A potentially difficult objective to take.
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Lodi - setup

V\ttacking the causewaﬁ

| had struggled a bit with my understanding of the special rule in the scenario booklet, Rule 25.79 “Units must
be in Road March to enter the Causeway hex. They may leave Road March in the hex and end their move
there.” How can the French attack the causeway? Working it through step by step, and assuming the choice of
words in each rules section is deliberate, Kevin has confirmed this is what happens.

The rules on Combat say nothing about having to ‘enter’ an enemy hex to attack it. You just have to be in a
ZOC. So the French can move into the Town hex (1416) with normal movement. They stop in the enemy ZOC
from the causeway. In the combat phase they must fight the Austrian artillery. Let us assume they get a DR or
similar. The Austrians vacate the causeway. The French can now Advance after Combat under rule 12.4.

The Advance rules do not use the word ‘enter’ — they use ‘advance’. So the French do NOT have to be in Road
March to advance after combat and occupy the causeway hex. And they do not have to be in Road March to
attack out of the causeway hex. But once the French have captured the chateau and move off the bridge any
reinforcements crossing the causeway must enter in Road March. And this means while on the causeway
(going back to 7.53) the French cannot be reinforced — they will need a leader in the attacking stack so they
can advance all undemoralised infantry in the stack if successful (12.4B).

V\nd so to battle\

As | play with the cards both sides started In Command. Dallemagne attacked the Hussars, drove them back
across the bridge and captured the Austrian baggage. Now all Austrian units west of Corte di Palasio were out
of supply and could not advance after combat. [In fact | had mistaken the entry/exit hex at Rubbiano for the




supply source. It is clearly not and in fact all the Austrians were OOS as long as they stayed south-west of a line
Abbazia del Cereto-Tormo]. The Austrian rear-guard drove off a concentric attack by Lannes and Ordener and
pulled back towards the now French occupied town. The rest of | Corps turned back towards Lodi. As Massena
and Bonaparte raced up the French used their initiative, caught the rear-guard and eliminated it.

Massena now prepared to storm the bridge with Dallegagne, Lannes and Beaumont’s cavalry. AT noon the
French attacked, driving the Austrian artillery back. Sebottendorf, reinforced by more of his Corps attacked [he
had no option as although in a Chateau hex had had artillery so could not use the chateau effect not to
attack], but was thrown back and Massena took Revillino. Beaulieu sent two units to cover the Bosco Mairano
ford.
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Lodi — noon, the French are across

Sebottendorf attacked Massena again, but to no effect. At 2pm Beaulieu decided to resume the retirement
and declared a General Retreat. With Frecnh forces closing on both fords this was no bad thing. Massena
dithered over pursuit and it was not until 6pm he caught up with Sebottendorf’s rear-guard. He was soundly
repulsed for his pains and the Austrians continued their retirement.

At the end the Austrians had lost 4SP and their baggage, they had withdrawn six units. The French had no
losses and held all the VP hexes, giving then 13VP to none, so a French victory.

In retrospect the Austrians should have been heading north to their supply hex, not to Rubbiano, so would
have been more out of the French advances across the ford. And Massena got over the bridge first time —if he
had not how long would the Austrians have held out? That is for another day, now on to Castiglione.



