
Four Lost Battles
Getting Started 7 March 2006

1. Punch Out the Counters
Curl the counter sheets and roll-up in both dimensions, turn the die-struck side out to avoid tearing.

2. Sort Counters by Formation
Save much effort by sorting the counters now and use the color charts on the maps for each scenario to pull your
forces together.  Clear plastic close-able bags work fine for that. You will need 14-16 bags for the French, 23 for
the Coalition and 10-11 for markers.

3. Prepare Card Decks for Your Scenario
Before shuffling: all the Mode Cards are together. Sort them out. Separate all ‘Cards Removed’ from the deck.

4. Set-up the Units
Refer to the Force Key printed on the game map and redeploy as required by the Mode Cards. Unit counts in the
setup instructions don't include vedette counters.

A Note on Combat Results
The Combat Results Table, evolved from the NLB and Napoleon at Waterloo CRTs, resembles the venerable (and
much bloodier) AH Waterloo CRT from1963, based in turn upon a Rand Corporation table developed in the 1950’s.
The organizing principle is simply that you need 3:1 odds to insure success. Without exploring the tactics inside the
hex, this table has successfully limned the basic outcomes. At 525 yards per hex, the game System glosses over
tactics. Tactical formations were all "inside the hex:" a defense in depth by a division might spread over the area of
one hex. The game allows a 3-brigade division to crowd into that amount of space.

The total manpower of a unit was never engaged all at once (except in desperate situations). A Division might
only put one or two of its 3 brigades into the forward half of the hex: that brigade would start with only one or two
regiments engaged. Therefore, although casualties are taking place more or less throughout the battle, the manpower
in contact remains constant (or changes gradually) for an extended period. 

A striking feature of Napoleonic battles is the ping-pong effect of individual regiments bashing each other out of
town, or across the bridge, only to be pushed back by a fresh enemy regiment in their turn. That is an attrition-type
battle, but attrition doesn't have any effect on combat power engaged until all the reserves are committed. After that
the unit becomes very brittle, and either one side or the other will break first. Once the unit has used up its reserves, if
the pressure of 'shock' is applied, it cannot continue to sustain losses and occupy its ground.

That is why we keep an aggregate tally of combat strength lost per corps. Demoralization comes when you might
say all the reserves in that corps are in the battle.

The Rules … 
are very similar to Seven Days of 1809. Review the Glossary, Sequence of Play, and section 18.0, “Cards.” If you
know the rules to Napoleon at Leipzig (or NLB), the following sections are added …
1.5 Hidden Forces • 1.7 Weather • 2.2 Night Game-Turns • 3.2 Road March • 4.4 Vedettes’s ZOCs • 5.2 Leader Escorts
• 6.3 Reorganizing Vedettes • 7.4 March Orders • 8.2 Road March • 8.3 Bridges and Stream Bridges • 9.0 TRAINS &
PONTOONS • 10.0 REPULSE •12.3 Demoralization and Supply • 13.0 VEDETTES • 14.3 Baggage Trains • 15.2
Changing Reinforcement Entry • 15.3 Second Day Reinforcements •15.4 Alternate Reinforcements • 16.3 Heavy
Cavalry • 17.0 COMMAND STRUCTURE • 18.0 CARDS



Four Lost Battles Q&A 
Consolidated 7 March 2006

Get the updated 2nd Edition Rules at
www.napoleongames.com

1.53 (addition) LOS can see into but not through Woods
and Town hexes.
3.12 EXAMPLE (From Grossbeeren): Italian 15th
Division. The inf. brigades of Moroni, St. Andrea, and
Martel could all stack in the same hex. Should Bertrand
entered that hex with the division’s artillery, all three
infantry brigades may remain.
5.22 (addition) Roll for leader casualties on AE or DE
results as well. 
5.23 Chief of Staff (new): Eliminated officers unit
counter returns to play on the following turn, stacked
with any unit(s) of their formation. Remember to
subtract “one” from their initiative rating henceforth.
5.23 (addition) If a Corps officer is captured, return the
existing Corps officer into play after one complete turn
without him, but have him operate at one point less than
the original initiative (a “1” stays a “1”). 
7.21 B (correction) Command range while in Road
March is 2 hexes.
7.42 (change) The reference should be to 19.5.
7.44 (delete) Delete the 3rd and 4th sentences.
8.31 Bridges and Movement: Artillery can never cross a
Stream hexside without bridging. 
9.11 (correction) Baggage moves 5 MPs as per counter.
9.15  Two Victory  Points  are  awarded.  (This  is  stated
correctly in 20.14.)
11.43 Retreat Across Bridges (change)
"...(not a Stream Bridge or a pontoon bridge crossing a
stream)." Retreating across a pontoon is the same as
retreating across a regular bridge or stream bridge.
11.46 Advance After Combat: If the defenders vacate
the hex as a result of bombardment, any infantry or
cavalry that was slated to attack that hex may advance
after combat normally. 
11.53 (change): Bombardment in Mud is allowed, apply
a -2 modifier.
11.63 (correction) cases A, B, A, B = A, B, C, D.
11.63C (the LOS Exceptions) The reciprocal situations
do not allow an open LOS.
11.64 Determine the Bombarding Strength: (change)
The strength of all Artillery units bombarding a given
target are totaled (this may include bombarding units in
different hexes). Strength of artillery units bombarding
at three-hex range is reduced by 50% (round fractions
down). 

11.66 Calculate the Effects of Terrain: (change) A.
Towns: Bombarding Units have their Combat Strengths
reduced by one-third.
B. … (etc.)
11.67 Resolve on the Bombardment Table: (change)
A Bombardment may result in a “1E” (eliminate one
target unit), a “Dr,” or no effect. Cross reference the
Bombardment Strength with the die roll—modify for
Cavalry Charge and Weather. 
11.68 (change) Only one unit in a stack may be
eliminated on a “1E” result—the surviving target unit(s)
may make a “Dr” or they may remain in the hex, at the
owning player’s choice. EXCEPTION: Vedettes may not
be used to satisfy the loss.
12.12 Rallying From Demoralization (change)
If the unit is eliminated again later then the Casualty
Level Marker should be increased by an amount equal
to the unit’s Full Combat Strength 
14.0 Supply (comment)
Recovery means your refreshed troops have gathered
new strength. The Recovery cards ensure periodic but
not quite predictable checks for supply. The troops were
always looking to their LOC and their route homeward.
If you have no Supply Line, you also have no line of
retreat, you have enemy in the place where they ought
not to be. 
14.32 Automatic:  Both Pontoon and Baggage trains
have a Movement allowance of 5. 
16.24 Advance Across Bridges: 
Cavalry defending a bridge that retreats before combat
may be followed-up by enemy attackers across the
bridge. Because of the importance of the bridge they
would certainly seize it if it was left undefended even if
only for less than a whole turn. 
This forms an exception to 16.2 which prohibits advance
into the vacated hex.
16.43 The Charge CRT: (delete) Delete the 2nd and 3rd

sentences.
16.45 Charge Movement: (change) Charging Cavalry
don't move during the Movement Phase, rather during
the Charge Step, expending up to their entire MA in the
process. LC and Vedettes may not charge. It costs +1
MP to enter the enemy unit’s hex.



Q&A (Continued)
16.5 Cavalry Charge Results
The possible results of a Charge are Overrun,  Attacker
Eliminated, or Attacker Elim with the target’s movement
limited in its following Movement Phase to zero or 1
Movement Points. Results are applied according to 11.4
or as stated below. On an "Ae" result, the cavalry units
are eliminated. 
18.23 (clarification) You should draw two night cards
after the reshuffle, so that each player has only two base
cards starting into the second day of battle, not three as
in the first day. That represents the extra pressure of
continuing a battle onto a second day. 
18.35  (Examples) Replace “prior  to”  with  “during” the
scheduled arrival turn in each example.
18.54 The reference should be to 19.26.
18.55 (clarification) Cards mandate selecting a “Force”
which, according to the Glossary, can be either a single
stack or a formation. You must interpret as
“formation” if possible.
18.75 Delay—March Confusion. If the Second Player
plays this card, the First Player's reinforcements have
already entered this turn and, let’s suppose they were
involved in combat, inflicting losses on 2nd Player's
units. You pick up the forces that entered, and take them
out of play, reversing all the effects of the phantom
combat(s) that they participated in.
19.43 Deploying Off-map Reinforcements:
The Reinforcements can enter in road march or not. But
there still has to be some order to their arrival. This rule
establishes the order of arrival.
20.15 Control: "Even if the occupying unit is Out of
Supply at the moment it enters or moves through the
hex, the hex is still controlled.

Cards: Arrival Card #24. The Commander may enter at
any friendly supply source.

Counters: Russian Ic / Pahlen’s nr. of Vedettes = 2

Scenario Information

GROSSBEEREN 
21.21 IV/24/2 HA is to appear with BERTRAND.
21.22 (Observation) Tauenzien is out of Supply.
21.23 Baggage Trains are not always specified (see 19.24
and 14.41). IV Corps Württembergers—5 units (not 8).
The 6th unit is with Bertrand, above.
21.32 Bülow Semi-Active (new Special Rule)
Bülow's at start force begins in Semi-Active status, and
remains so until released (see Card 19 for effects). Roll
at the start of each Friendly Player Turn to try and
release him. He is released on a die-roll of 1.
MODIFIER: At 10.00 hrs, subtract 1 from the die, at
11.00, subtract 2, at 12.00, -3, etc. For each group of
French Alternate Reinforcements that have arrived,
subtract 1. Bülow is also released if the enemy are
within his personal Line of Sight. 
21.33 Historical Note: On hearing the cannon at
Blankenfelde (somewhere around 10.00), Bülow left a
small force at Grossbeeren and, on his own initiative,
marched for Lichtenrade to support Tauenzien. On
Bernadotte's orders, Bülow turned around and
reoccupied his old camp at Heinersdorf at approx.
13.00 in the pouring rain. Friederich says they marched
12 km (e.g., the round-trip distance from Heinersdorf to
Lichtenrade and back). 
–Jack Gill
21.41 Control (change) The controlling player receives,
at the end of each game turn:
• 1 VP for control of Blankenfeld (hex 1704) • 1 VP for
control of Grossbeeren (hex 1117)

KATZBACH 
22.11 Duration (change) 10.00–20.00 hrs.
(May continue on Second Day of Battle, ending on 20.00
hrs., 27th Aug.)
22.13 Card Deck, French (change) – do not remove 2x
“Second Day of Battle.”
22.14 Card Deck, Coalition
(change) remove 2x “Delay—March confusion;” 
do not remove 2x “Commander Enters the map” and 2x
“Second Day of Battle.”
22.21 (change) MACDONALD, XI (less 31st Div.)
within 4 hexes of (0518).
22.23 French Reinforcements
(change): Move-up the arrival of the balance of IIC to
14.00 [not 16.00].



1400 turn (correction) The note with the 39th Division
should refer to 22.24 (not 22.25). 
22.31 (correction) The burnt bridge is at 2701 (not
3101).
22.34 Lauriston’s Command (addition)
Lauriston may command Dermoncourt’s brigade. 
22.35 Optional Rule: Fording a River Hexside
An attempt to ford a River hexside (as well as the
Katzbach in flood, 22.31) may take place if neither hex
contiguous to the hexside is a slope hex. EXAMPLE:
Crossing from 1318 to 1417, or from 1521 to 1620
would not be permitted. The unit must begin the Player
turn unstacked, adjacent to the hexside to be forded.
This fording attempt is successful on a die roll of "1" or
"2" (after the Thunderstorm card is played, on a "1"
only). If successful the unit may cross the hexside and
then end its move for the turn. On a "3" through "6" the
unit may not move. Only infantry and cavalry may
attempt to ford. Supply may not be traced through a
River hexside.
COMMENT: Though the attempted crossing at
Schmokwitz served merely to take 2 divisions of
Souham's Corps out of the fight, you may wish to have
these troops try and cross the flooded Katzbach.

22.5 Katzbach 2 PM Scenario (new)
Here's the situation at 14.00. French Move first. 
Cards, Victory, etc., as per regular scenario rules. 
(No Mode Cards at Start.) 
22.51 French Set Up:
4 HCD (0614)
2 HCD (1116)
19 ID (1023)
16 ID (1123)
35 ID (1122) 
8 ID (1617)
4 LCD (1614)
36 ID (1714)
2LC( 2012) 
Vedettes (1615,1616) 
Souham, III Corps stacked on road (0413—0915) 

22.52 Coalition Set Up:
RUSSIANS:
Langeron, VI, IX, X (1224, 1223, 1323)
LC (1125, 1321)
Korff (1326) 
Karpov Cav Bde (2213)

XI (2015)
Arty (2116)
Wassilchikov's Cav Corps (2017) 
PRUSSIANS:
8 IB (1718)
2 IB (1818)
7 IB (1817)
1 IB (1919)
Jurgass' Prus. Res. Cav (2019)
Katzeler, Henkel, Bieber, and Yorck (1917) 
UNSPECIFIED UNITS: place somewhere adjacent to
friendly units of their formation. 
Source: Nafziger, "Napoleon at Dresden," The Battle at
the Weinberg Defile, p. 60; map, p. 54

KULM
23.25 (3) ST. CYR has 13 units (not 12). 
23.25 (4) LATOUR has 9 units (not 8).
23.34 (new): The two Coalition March Orders are not
free but apply only to Bianchi and Colloredo and their
respective Austrian Corps. Both Forces must march to
the Coalition Supply Source at 0726.
Historical Commentary: In the chaos of the retreat
nobody knew exactly where these troops were, and they
certainly were unaware of the battle about to begin at
Kulm. There were other reasons why they were not
about to turn around and march across the plateau; they
were in retreat mode and knew that the pursuing French
XIV Corps was behind them.

DENNEWITZ
24.21 (clarification) Zoltowski was part of the VIII
(Polish) Corps, attached to IV Corps at the time of
Dennewitz. 
24.22 Danna (0934).
24.23 Coalition Reinforcements, 1500 turn, AvG = 3
units, 21st = 1 unit, total 4 units. 
1700 turn, Prussian III/Holtzendorf Art should be
excluded as per the note at the end. 
1600 turn, STEDINGK, Baggage Train appears with
Woronzow. 


