Napoleon Retreats
Update 25 May 2019

TRC, 7-Mar, 4PM

NOTE: If playing the Craonne DoB, Rudzewich and his X
Corps don't enter at all. The entry hex shown, S1734,
applies in the Craonne AtB and the Campaign Game.
Rudzevich was the garrison commander of Soissons.

28.42 General Retreat: While a Coalition General Retreat
is in effect, the French player may not accrue any VPs for
control of Blue VP locations.

31.2 Campaign Game ALT Reinforcements:

(add) EXCEPTIONS: 6-MAR AND 7-MAR

French Player uses 27.2, arriving as follows.

Groups #1 and #4, E6109. Groups #2 and #3, S1734.
Coalition Player uses 27.53

9-MAR THROUGH 12-MAR

French Player uses 28.2, arriving as for 27.2 (above).
Coalition Player do not use 28.2. Replace with (new)
Group #1, Borstel/IIl Pr and Group #2 LIEVEN/XI

29.31 Damaged Bridges at Start for Fismes: Bridges
damaged at start cannot be repaired during this scenario.

Casualty Tracks list formations for Day of Battle. If info
is missing use the same level as on previous days

Coalition Setup Sheet
Change SACKEN, Lieven, Sass, Stavisky, and 10,13,24
artillery in the 6-Mar column to ALT #2, (not ALT#1).

25.83 Roadblocks (Optional Rule): A roadblock is an
infantry company or battalion with tools. It cannot move,
and has a combat strength of 1, for defense only. It may
never attack and simply remains in contact when adjacent
to the enemy during the friendly combat phase. A
roadblock is blocked to French and Coalition alike,
including movement, retreats and supply lines (but not
Command Radius). Enemy units may not enter a hex
containing a Road Block counter. A roadblocked bridge is
impassable for enemy movement until the roadblock is
cleared. Roadblocks are always immobile and “unable to
retreat fully/PEU.”

25.84 Roadblock Construction: Each army can construct
up to 2 Roadblocks at start and 2 each Night PM turn, at
least 3 hexes from the nearest enemy unit, and within 2
hexes of a friendly infantry unit (in both cases tracing only
through terrain passable to infantry). Roadblocks may only
be placed in a road or trail hex at a defile—either end of a
bridge, in a town, slope hex, or woods, and must be pointed
toward the defile hexside. Construction is automatic—
simply place the Roadblock Marker with the red arrow

pointed toward the blocked defile. Guerrillas may be used
to build additional roadblocks (25.86). You may build up to
two roadblocks in a hex, each pointing to a different defile
hexside.

25.85 Reconnaissance against Roadblocks: Road-blocks
are placed face down until revealed by recon (8.3) or
Repulse (9.12). The roadblock is treated as "no cav" on the
Reconnaissance Table. A repulse is resolved as a regular
combat, with no column shift (9.22).

25.86 Roadblock ZOCs: A face-
down Roadblock marker has a ZOC
into all adjacent hexes. The 5 non-
defile hexsides are revealed as non-
controlled only when the roadblock
marker is face-up, leaving one actual
hex of ZOC. Friendly units may
stack with the Roadblock—their ROAD
ZOCs are unimpaired. 1215(0/01

25.87 Clearing Roadblocks: To clear a roadblock, an
infantry unit must attack it through the defile hexside. If
attacking exclusively through a defile hexside it is resolved
on the Shock Combat Table. A retreat or 1R result for the
roadblock means it is cleared. A cavalry or artillery unit
without infantry cannot attack (or bombard) through the
defile hexside. The roadblock hex may be attacked from
non-defile hexsides. If no infantry units attack through the
defile hexside, that roadblock is not removed.

25.88 Defending a Roadblock: There are no additional
terrain effects on combat for units stacked with a
roadblock. The defense strength of the roadblock is added
to the total combat strength defending the hex, unless no
infantry attack through the Roadblock hexside. Cavalry
Charges are not permitted against a Roadblock hexside.

31.74 Baggage Train Movement: (clarification)

All Formations must recover any units awaiting reorgan-
ization before their baggage trains move away from the
current friendly supply source. If the Formation’s Trunk
Line (17.43) is increased, immediately roll 1d6 for each
unit of the formation still Awaiting Reorganization on the
Reorganization Display at that moment: on a die roll of 5 or
6 move the unit to the PEU. All units that are out of supply
(or lack a baggage train) upon reorganization must also roll
as above. In other words, if you move the baggage train
while units of that formation remain on the Reorganization
Display, a third of those units will be lost.



