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This booklet contains a two-turn walkthrough of 
Root. To use this walkthrough, you will first need to 
read the first two pages of the Learning to Play guide. 
Note: This walkthrough is designed for four players. 
If you have fewer, some players will need to act as mul-
tiple factions.

Setting Up the Walkthrough
Choose Factions. Each player takes a faction 
board and all of the faction’s pieces, listed on its 
board back. Seat the players in this clockwise or-
der: Marquise, Eyrie, Alliance, Vagabond. Also, 
give each player their faction’s walkthrough 
card (shown in the bottom-right). 

Set Scores. Place the score marker for each  
faction on “0” on the score track.

Follow Walkthrough Card. Each player follows 
the steps of their walkthrough card. Keep your 
hands of cards public for the walkthrough.

Shuffle Deck. Shuffle the remaining 39 cards to 
form the shared deck.

Place Ruins. Place the 4 ruin markers on the 
four slots on the map marked with “R.”

Make Item Supply. Gather the 12 item chits 
and place them on their matching spaces near 
the top of the map.
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Place 1 warrior in each 

clearing, except diagonally 

opposite from keep. (11 total.)

Place the keep and 1 sawmill 

in the top-le� fox clearing. 

(�e keep does not fill a slot.)

Place 1 workshop and 1 

recruiter on map as shown 

on walkthrough sheet. 

Place rest of buildings on 

your faction board tracks, 

from right to le�.

Take these cards from the 

shared deck into your hand: 

(Bird) Brutal Tactics

(Rabbit) Better Burrow Bank

(Mouse) Travel Gear

Walkthrough

1st

2nd

3rd

5th

4th

Place the Despot card on 

your Leader Card slot. 

Tuck your 2 Loyal Vizier 

cards into Move and 

Build on the Decree.

Place 1 roost and 6 warriors 

in the bottom-right rabbit 

clearing.

Place remaining roosts on 

your Roosts track from 

right to le�.

Take these cards from the 

shared deck into your hand:

(Bird) Ambush

(Rabbit) A Visit to Friends

(Rabbit) Bake Sale

Walkthrough

1st

2nd

3rd

Place your 3 bases and 10 
sympathy on their faction 
board tracks, filling them.

Take these cards from the 
shared deck into your hand:

(Bird) Brutal Tactics
(Mouse) Scouting Party
(Mouse) Crossbow

Take these cards from the 
shared deck and put them 
on the Supporters stack on 
faction board:

(Bird) Sappers
(Bird) Birdy Bindle
(Fox) Anvil

Walkthrough

1st

2nd

3rd

5th

4th

Put �ief card on Character 
Card slot. Put pawn on map 
as walkthrough sheet shows.Put Errand (fox) quest card 

and 2 drawn quests near you.Put a random “R” item beneath each ruin on map.Put the “S” M, F, S items 
in your Satchel and the “S” 
T item on its track. 

Take these cards from the 
shared deck into your hand:(Fox) Root Tea(Fox) Protection Racket(Rabbit) Cobbler

Put relationship markers  
on their chart on Indifferent.6th

Walkthrough



Turn 1: Marquise
Birdsong
I place a wood at my sawmill.

Daylight, Action 1: Build
I spend that wood to build 
a sawmill in the top rabbit 
clearing, scoring one point.

Why do I score points? 
Whenever you build a building, 
you score the points shown under 
the building on your faction board. 
If a piece ever goes back on your 
board, don’t worry—you don’t lose 
points! Same goes for everyone.

Daylight, Action 2: Recruit
I place a warrior at my recruiter in the mouse clearing.
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Daylight, Action 3: March
I move my warrior from the top rabbit clearing to the 
mouse clearing, then move both warriors there to the 
fox clearing. To take a move, I must rule the clearing 
I’m moving from or moving to, which I definitely do.

What’s rule? 
You rule a clearing when you have more warriors and buildings 
there than any other player. Tokens—which are cardboard circles, 
like your keep and wood—do not count toward rule. On a tie, no 
one rules a clearing.

Evening
Finally, I draw a card.

How can I draw more cards?
As the Marquise, you can draw more cards if you build more 
recruiters. Notice the card symbols under the third and fifth 
recruiters on your faction board?
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Turn 1: Eyrie
Birdsong
I add two rabbit cards to the Recruit column of my 
Decree.

Why rabbits? Why recruit?
Each turn, you’ll need to do actions matching all the cards in your 
Decree. By adding rabbits to Recruit, you’re saying that you will 
recruit two warriors in rabbit clearings with roosts 
each and every turn. Because your only 
roost is in a rabbit clearing, it 
makes sense to add rabbits to  
Recruit. It might have made 
sense to add one to Move, 
since you have some warriors 
in a rabbit clearing to move 
out. But it wouldn’t have 
made sense to add a rabbit 
to Battle or Build, since the 
other rabbit clearings on the 
map are far away from you 
right now.

A Visit to Friends

+1,
�en
discard. 

Bake Sale

+3,
�en
discard. 

Loyal VizierLoyal Vizier

Lords of the Forest
You rule any clearings 
where you are tied in 
presence.

In a moment of weakness the Marquise 
descended. Now you have rallied your 
strength and are poised to recapture 
your birthright.

Eyrie Dynasties
Disdain for Trade 
When cra
ing 
items, you score 
only        .

Birdsong

Daylight

Evening

Add one or two cards to the Decree. 
Only one card added may be a       .

Score         of rightmost empty space on the Roosts track.

Draw 1 card, plus 1 card per          showing. Discard down to 5 cards.

Battle Build

The Decree

Turmoil 

Humiliate: Lose one victory point per 
bird card (including Viziers) on Decree.

Purge: Discard Decree, except Viziers.

Rest: Immediately end Daylight
and go to Evening.

Recruit Move

If your hand is empty, draw 1 card.

If you have no roosts, place a roost and 3 warriors
in the clearing with the fewest warriors.

+0

+1

+1 +2 +3 +4 +4 +5

Depose: Flip leader face down and 
choose a new one. Reassign Viziers.

VP

Resolve the Decree from le
 column to right, 
taking one action per card in a matching clearing.

Cra
 using roosts. 

…in a matching clearing 
you rule without a roost.

…in a matching clearing 
with a roost.

…from a matching clearing. …in a matching clearing.

Roosts

1st

2nd

1st

2nd

3rd

4th

Crafted Items
Vagabond can give you cards to take these items.

1st

2nd

3rd

Leader Card



Daylight, Decree
I recruit twice, placing two warriors at my roost.

Then, I move three warriors from the rabbit clearing to 
the bottom mouse clearing. I can do this because bird 
cards are wild, so I’m treating this card as a rabbit.

Finally, because I rule the mouse clearing and it doesn’t 
have a roost, I build a roost there.

Evening
I have two roosts on the map, so I score one point. Then, 
I draw a card.
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Turn 1: Alliance
Birdsong, Spread Sympathy
I spend either fox card from my Supporters stack to 
put a sympathy token in the central fox clearing.

Why could I place the 
sympathy there?
If you have no sympathy on 
the map, you can place sym-
pathy in any clearing—except 
for the clearing with the keep! 
The Marquise’s Keep ability 
prevents anyone from placing 
a piece there, but anyone is 
free to move a piece in.

Daylight, Craft
I want to craft my Crossbow card, so I’ll activate my 
fox sympathy. I take the crossbow from the item sup-
ply on the map, place it in the Crafted Items box on 
my faction board, and then score one point.

What’s crafting about?
Basically, crafting means “play a card to get the 
effect at the bottom.” You have sympathy in a 
fox clearing, fulfilling the crafting cost in the 
bottom-left corner. So, you can craft this card 
just by pointing your finger at the sympathy 
and saying, “I’m activating this.” Two card 
types can be played without crafting: domi-
nance cards and ambush cards. You’ll learn 
more about these later.

Crossbow

+1,
�en
discard. 
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Anvil
+2, �en

discard. 



Daylight, Mobilize
I add my other two cards to my Supporters stack.

Evening
I haven’t had a revolt yet, 
so I don’t have any offi-
cers. No officers means 
no actions in Eve-
ning, so all that’s 
left for me to do is 
draw a card.

Woodland Alliance

Birdsong Daylight Evening

Supporters

Sympathy

Outrage
When a player removes sympathy or moves any warriors into a 
sympathetic clearing, that player must add a matching card from 
their hand to your supporters. If they cannot, they show you their 
hand, and you draw a card and add it to your supporters.

Guerrilla War
In battle as defender, 
you use the higher 
roll and the attacker 
uses the lower. 

Removing Bases. If a base is removed from the map, discard all matching 
supporters (including birds), and remove half of officers (rounded up). 
If no bases remain on the map, discard supporters down to 5.

Placement Limits. Each clearing 
may only have one sympathy token.

Martial Law. You must spend another matching supporter 
if the target clearing has at least 3 warriors of another player.

Bases

If you have no bases on the map, discard any 
cards that would be added beyond 5.

Officers

Spend 2 supporters matching a sympathetic clearing. 
Remove all enemy pieces there.
Place matching base and warriors there equal to total 
number of matching sympathetic clearings. 
Place a warrior in the Officers box.

Spend number of supporters listed on Sympathy track to 
place a sympathy, adjacent to sympathetic clearing if 
possible. Supporters must match the target clearing.

Spread Sympathy any number of times.

Revolt any number of times.
You may take these actions any number of times. 

Mobilize
Add a card from hand to your Supporters stack.

Cra� using sympathy.

Train 
Spend a card from hand matching a built 
base to place a warrior in the Officers box.

Move Battle
Recruit

Military Operations up to officers.

Organize
Remove warrior, place 
sympathy there.

Place warrior at base.

Discard down to 5 cards.
Draw 1 card, plus 1 card per          showing. 

1 2 3

+1

1st

2nd

1st

2nd

Crafted Items
Vagabond can give you cards to take these items.

+4

+4

+2

+3

+4+1

+1

+1

+2

Brutal Tactics

In battle as attacker, may deal 

an extra hit, but defender 

scores one point.

Scouting PartyAs attacker in battle, you are not affected by ambush cards.



Turn 1: Vagabond
Birdsong, Slip
I’ll slip into the central fox clearing.

Is slip different from 
move?
A bit. Slip is a move, but it’s 
the only way you, or any-
one, can move into a forest. 
It’s also free—it does not  
exhaust any of your boots.

Daylight, Aid
I exhaust my torch, flipping it over, 
to give either fox card to the Alli-
ance, take their crossbow, and put 
it in my Satchel. Our relationship 
improves, so I score one point.

Why aid now?
A crossbow is a juicy item, and you might 
not be near Alliance pieces in the future, 
so it makes sense to grab it now. Generally, you’ll want to aid 
factions that are struggling. You might also give cards with items 
to factions if they promise they’ll craft the items for you. Hopefully 
they’re not lying.
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Daylight, Move
I exhaust a boot to move 
into the mouse clearing.

Daylight, Strike
I exhaust my crossbow to 
remove an Eyrie warrior, 
which degrades our relation-
ship to Hostile.

Is it good to go Hostile?
Admittedly, doing it this early is a little risky. 
From now on, moving into a clearing with any 
Eyrie warriors will exhaust two boots instead 
of one. There’s only one way you can get your 
Eyrie relationship back to Indifferent: enter 
into a coalition with them by playing a domi-
nance card. And even that’s rare.

Daylight, Battle
I exhaust my sword to battle 
the Eyrie. I roll a 1 and 0, and 
I use the higher roll because 
I’m the attacker. I deal one 
hit, so this removes an Eyrie 
warrior. I score a point since 
they’re Hostile.

Evening
Finally, I draw a card.
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Turn 2: Marquise
Birdsong
I place a wood at each of my two sawmills.

Daylight, Build
I spend a wood to build a workshop 
in the top rabbit clearing and score 
two points.

Why a workshop?
Building this workshop means you have two rabbit workshops, 
which will let you craft many useful cards such as Command  
Warren and Cobbler. These cards give you extra actions each turn, 
which as the Marquise you desperately need. You’re the most 
starved for actions of all the factions.

Daylight, Battle
I battle the Eyrie in the mouse clearing. I roll 2 and 1. 
I’m the attacker, so I use the higher roll. However, I 
only have one warrior, so I can only deal one hit from 

my roll. We each remove a warrior, but I’ll use my 
Field Hospitals ability. I’ll 

spend a bird card to place 
my warrior back at my keep.
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Is this a good time to use Field Hospitals?
Honestly, not really. As the Marquise, you can spend bird cards to 
get extra actions, and you can use Field Hospitals to save multi-
ple warriors getting removed from a clearing at the same time. We 
won’t hold it against you if you want to keep the card instead.

Daylight, Recruit
Then I place a warrior at my recruiter.

I want more warriors!
Good call. You can only recruit 
once per turn, but this action 
places a warrior at each recruiter, 
so build a lot if you want tons of 
warriors on the map.

Evening
Finally, I draw a card.
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Turn 2: Eyrie
Birdsong
I add a bird card to Battle on my Decree.

Are birds good on the Decree?
Adding a bird card to your Decree makes it more flexible, since 
birds are always wild. However, if you ever fall into turmoil, you 
will lose more points—each bird makes you lose one point!

Daylight, Decree
First I recruit twice, placing two warriors at my rabbit 
roost. Then I move two warriors up to the fox clear-
ing. Next I must battle, so I’ll battle the Marquise in 
that same fox clearing. I roll 3 and 1. I’m the attacker, 
so I get the 3, but I only have two warriors, so I only 
deal two hits. This leaves one warrior each. Normally, 
this tie would mean no one would rule here, but the 
Eyrie are the Lords of the Forest! I rule when tied, so I 
can still build my roost.

Evening
Since I have three roosts on the map now, I score two 
points, and I get to draw two cards rather than one.

Why do I draw more now?
Because you uncovered a draw symbol on your Roosts 
track! The Marquise draws more cards by building more 
recruiters, the Alliance does by revolting to get more bases, 
and the Vagabond does by getting more coin stacks.



Could the Marquise use her 
Field Hospitals ability?
Yes! Ask that player if they’d like 

to discard a fox or bird card. 
If they do, both warriors 

removed in this battle are 
placed in the clearing 
with the keep. Do this 
whenever any Marquise 

warriors are removed!

With two moves, could I 
move a warrior twice?

Sure! There’s no limit 
to the number of times 
you can move a given  

warrior, as long as you 
have enough moves. If 
you want more moves, 
you’ll need to add more 
cards to Move in your  
Decree next turn.

How does turmoil happen?
Turmoil happens whenever you can’t fully 
take an action on your Decree, such as if 
you need to recruit but have no warriors to 
place, or need to battle in a rabbit clearing 
but no rabbit clearings have enemy pieces 
to battle. If you have a Decree column with 
no cards, that’s fine—you just won’t take 
that action! The consequences of turmoil 
are described on your faction board.
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Turn 2: Alliance
Birdsong, Revolt
I spend two bird supporters to revolt in the fox clear-
ing with my sympathy. I remove the Marquise warrior, 
place one warrior and my fox base in that clearing, 
and then add a warrior to my Officers box.

How effective was this revolt?
It only removed one warrior, so it wasn’t 
the best. A revolt removes all enemy 
pieces—each and every warrior, build-
ing, and token—in its clearing, so see if 
you can set up a big one next time. That 
said, you have a base now, which lets 
you draw another card each turn, and 
your officer means you get an Evening 
action.

Can I revolt in a fox clearing again?
Nope, not until your fox base is back on your board.

Birdsong, Spread Sympathy
I spend a mouse supporter to put a sympathy in the 
mouse clearing and score one point.
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Why is sympathy good here?
As you know, you can revolt in sympathetic clearings. Also, if an en-
emy player moves warriors into a sympathetic clearing or removes 
a sympathy token from the map, they’ll have to give you a match-
ing card, as described by your Outrage ability. This clearing is near 
lots of Marquise and Eyrie action, so Outrage is likely! However, 
if someone places a piece in a sympathetic clearing, this does not 
trigger Outrage.

Wait, can someone battle my sympathy?
Yes, they can! A player can battle in any clearing where they have 
warriors and where another player has any pieces. That said, war-
riors take hits first, so they protect buildings and tokens. But be 
warned—if you have no warriors in a battle, you’ll be defenseless, 
so the attacker will deal one extra hit to your buildings and tokens 
there. Basically, if someone battles your sympathy alone, the sym-
pathy is dead, no matter what they roll. This defenseless rule goes 
for everyone.

Daylight, Mobilize
I add both of my cards to 
my Supporters stack.

Evening
I have one officer, so I’ll 
recruit, placing a war-
rior at my base. Then I 
draw two cards, since 
I have a base now.



Turn 2: Vagabond
Birdsong, Refresh
I have tea, so I get to refresh five items. I flip all my 
items face up.

Birdsong, Slip
I slip into the central fox clearing.

Daylight, Explore
I exhaust my torch and take the item from the ruin 
and score one point. I remove the ruin from the slot, 
opening it up for a later building.

Can other players clear ruins?
No—you’re the only one who can. Even 
more, if you’re playing a game without the 
Vagabond, the ruins stay on the map for the 
whole game!

R

R

R

R

10 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30



Daylight, Quest
I exhaust my boot and tea 
to complete a quest, the fox 
Errand. My exhausted tea 
moves to my Satchel. In-
stead of scoring the quest, 
I’ll draw two cards. Then I 
draw a new quest to put out.

How do quests score?
You score points equal to the  
total number of quests in that suit 
you’ve completed. So, later in the 
game, if you complete a second 
fox quest and choose to score it, 
you will score two points.

Evening
Finally, I draw a card. However, now I’ve got six 
cards in my hand, so I need to discard one. Which to 
choose...

Quest Card
Errand

in a fox clearing.

Claim this quest 
and pick a reward.

Q+1 perDraw 2

The walkthrough is over. You should now have a good sense 
of the game’s flow. You may continue this game or start 

over—whatever your group prefers. Either way, play with 
your hands of cards private from now on. 

If you have more questions, the back of this booklet contains 
some references to key rules that will help you master the 

game’s core systems. The main topics we did not cover are 
ambush cards in battle, dominance cards, and persistent 

effects on crafted cards.



You likely have some questions about specific rules. 
To help you on your way, here are some critical rules 
references that may help.

Key Rules References
Learn to Play Law

Movement 5 4.2
Crafting 7 4.1
Battle 8–9 4.3
Dominance 21 3.3
Scenarios 22–23 A.1


