
The Clockwork Prince
The Clockwork Prince is an automated player that can replace 
the Chancellor or an Exile. We recommend it in games with 
one or two human players, but you can use it with more players.

Set up the game as normal, but do not deal starting cards to 
the Prince, and follow these steps:

1.	 Take the Clockwork Prince board (back of Chancellor board) 
and Mind sheet (back of Chronicle aid). Flip the Imperial 
Reliquary to its Princely Reliquary side (back of Reliquary 
board).

2.	 If the Prince is an Exile, take an unused Exile board, and 
the Chancellor takes a Citizen board and covers their 
Supply track with the Princely Reliquary board.

3.	 Place the 6 relationship markers on the matching suit 
spaces in the Unaligned box on the Prince board. 

4.	 Place the 2 action markers on the Threat space (red circle) 
of the Mind sheet that shows the Oathkeeper goal. 

5.	 Place the threat and tactics markers on the starting (starred) 
spaces of their tracks on the Prince board.

6.	 Place the Prince’s pawn at the top Cradle site.

Rules Conflicts and Changes
•	 In any conflicts, these rules supersede the core rules.

•	 Any suits in the Conspirators column count as advisers 
for resolving powers (including the Conspiracy and the 
Recover restriction when other players are recovering the 
Darkest Secret from the Prince).

•	 Human players must track the order in which they have 
taken relics from left to right.

•	 In campaigns, the Prince adds attack dice as the attacker, 
and subtracts attack dice as the defender, as shown by 
their Tactics track. This cannot be modified or canceled.

•	 If the Prince is the Chancellor: Citizens cannot become 
Exiles during play. Citizens refresh their Supply as if they 
were the Chancellor by counting the warbands in the 
Prince’s personal bank. (You can check this on the Princely 
Reliquary board, even though the Prince does not track Supply.)

•	 If the Prince is an Exile: They act as if their Threat is 
the Usurper, regardless of which Threats exist. If they are 
the Usurper, they choose No Threat instead. They do not 
reveal Visions or accept Citizenship offers.

Tiebreakers
In all ties, the Prince chooses the leftmost choice—whether 
which region to play a card to (Cradle first), which card in a drawn 
hand to choose to play (first drawn), which player (earliest in turn 
order), which relic to recover (closest to site), which relic to target 
(first taken, placed leftmost in row), or which Friend or Conspirator 
suit in the same row to choose (first that entered the space). 

Turn Structure
The Clockwork Prince’s turn has four phases in this order:
1.	 Assess Threat
2.	 Search and Play One Card
3.	 Take Actions
4.	 Cleanup

1. Assess Threat (Skip this phase on your first turn.)
Place your threat marker on the space on the Prince board 
showing your current Threat, which is the first true condition 
of these in order, or on “No Threat?” if none are true: 

1.	 As Chancellor, does a Citizen meet the Successor goal?
2.	 As Exile, are you not the Usurper? As Chancellor, is an Exile 

the Usurper, or is an Exile the Oathkeeper on round eight?
3.	 Has an Exile revealed and completed a Vision?
4.	 Is an Exile the Oathkeeper?

Do not move your action markers on the Mind sheet if:
•	 There is no Threat, or
•	 A Threat exists and is the same as on your previous turn, 

and your action marker is in the Threat’s Mind quadrant

Move both action markers to the Threat space on the Mind 
sheet that corresponds to your current Threat if:

•	 There is a new or different Threat, or
•	 A Threat exists and is the same as on 

your last turn, but your action marker 
is not in the Threat’s Mind quadrant

(For example, if a Citizen meets their Successor goal by holding the 
Darkest Secret, move the markers to Threat space for the Darkest Secret.)

Wake—If you have the People’s Favor, place favor on it if able.

2. Search and Play One Card
Draw three cards from the world deck. Do not stop drawing 
if you draw a Vision! If you draw three Visions, keep drawing 
until you draw a denizen. 

Reveal the drawn cards except for Visions. Place them in a row 
in the order you drew them from left to right. For each battle 
plan you reveal, advance your Tactics by one. 

Play one card whose suit is described by the Mind quadrant 
that your action marker is in. (For example, the top-left quadrant 
says to “Play a Friend” as its first condition. If you draw a Discard 
d and two Hearth h cards, and Hearth h is a higher Friend than 
Discord d, you play the Hearth h card you drew first—the leftmost.)

Play it to the topmost Cradle site you are able to. If you cannot, 
play it to the topmost Provinces site you are able to. If you 
cannot, play it to the topmost Hinterland site you are able to. 

Gain one favor from the favor bank matching the played card.

If you cannot play this card to any site, discard it and gain what 
is shown in the Can’t Play Card box of your Mind quadrant. 
Gain favor from the bank matching the discarded card and add it 
to your Ambition box. The shield advances your tactics marker.

Advance the relationship marker matching the suit of card you 
played or discarded by one space, unless the marker is in the top 
Relationships space. If the new space already has markers, place 
the advancing marker to the right of the markers there.

3. Take Actions
Take the number of actions shown by the Relationships box 
you advanced the marker into this turn (five if topmost). If you 
skip any actions, do not count them toward the number of 
actions you’ve taken this turn. (Don’t track Supply.)

For each action, move your current action marker 
along the arrow from your action space to the 
new action space, and take the action there. To 
follow an arrow, you must meet the condition it 
says. (Don’t move your starting action marker yet. It 
will help you count the actions you’ve taken this turn.)

If you can follow multiple arrows, follow the red arrow if able, 
then the orange arrow if able, then the black arrow. (If there are 
two orange arrows, follow the orange arrow marked Higher Priority.)

an action 
space

a Threat space



Your actions are different from normal, as described below.

Trade
If your action space shows favor, gain favor from each empty 
card at your site whose suit matches any Friend, gaining the 
amount of favor in the Relationships box for that card’s suit. 

If it shows secrets, gain secrets in the same way, but for 
Conspirators. (You do not place favor or secrets on cards to trade.)

Skip this action if you would gain no favor or secrets at all.

Muster
Place one favor on each empty card at your site, starting with 
the card closest to the site. Gain two warbands per favor placed. 
Do not place favor from your Ambition box.

Skip this action if you would gain no warbands at all.

Travel
Travel to the site that best meets the condition listed on your 
action space. (Leftmost such site on tie.) Skip this action if your 
site already meets this condition.

Often, you’ll travel in order to gain the most favor or secrets in 
a later Trade action (accounting for favor in the banks, ignoring cards 
with favor or secrets). If no favor could be gained from Trade, gain 
one favor from the favor bank closest to the world deck that has 
favor. If no secrets could be gained from Trade, gain one secret.

If you need to travel to a site with a relic but there are no relics on 
the map, travel to a facedown site. If there are no facedown sites 
on the map, gain one favor from the favor bank closest to the 
world deck that has favor, and travel to the site that will let you 
gain the most secrets in a later Trade. If you travel to a facedown 
site but it has no relics, gain one favor, as described above.

Travel + Campaign
Skip this action if you are not Battle Ready—able to roll more 
attack dice than the defense dice added by your targets plus the 
warbands in the defending force. (Do not add the defender’s battle 
plans or defense dice added from the Oathkeeper title.)

You must declare at least one target at your site, and you must 
target your site if the defender rules it (as normal).

•	 If you’re targeting sites, travel to the site ruled by the 
enemy who rules the most sites (“Rival”) that will add 
the fewest warbands to the defending force. (Remember to 
add the warbands on their board if their pawn is there.) If you 
rule all faceup sites, move to a facedown site and target 
the bandits. Target as many sites as possible while staying 
Battle Ready, in order from the site that would add the 
fewest warbands to the defending force to the site that 
would add the most.

•	 If you’re targeting a banner or the Grand Scepter, travel 
to the pawn of the player who holds it. Only target what is 
listed on your action space.

•	 If you’re targeting relics, travel to the pawn of the player 
who holds the most. Target as many as possible while 
staying Battle Ready, in order from the relic that adds 
the fewest defense dice to the relic that adds the most. If 
multiple relics add equal defense dice, target the one they 
took most recently (leftmost).

You always sacrifice warbands if it will make you victorious.  
If you are victorious and targeted any sites, place one warband 
on each targeted site. Repeat this until you do not have enough 
warbands to do so, keeping any remaining on your board.

Search
Resolve the Search and Play One Card phase again. (This does 
not increase the number of actions you can take this turn.)

Recover
Skip this action if you are not able to recover a relic or banner 
as listed on your action space.

Pay the cost of the relic or banner listed on your action space, 
and take it. When recovering a banner, place as many favor or 
secrets on it as possible. When recovering the Darkest Secret, 
you ignore whether cards at the holder’s site match their 
advisers or not (Law 5.4.1). (Other players do not ignore this.)

When recovering, spend favor from your Ambition box first. If 
you’re an Exile and are recovering a relic, you will burn secrets 
and count as favor, but spend favor first.

4. Cleanup
Return any favor on cards to their matching favor banks. 

Move your starting action marker to the space with your 
current action marker.

If you’re the Chancellor, do not hold the Oathkeeper title, and 
have a Threat but no Successor, each Exile in turn order, except 
an Exile who meets the Successor goal, may peek at the bottom 
relic of the relic deck and may take it to become a Citizen.

Powers and Permission as the Prince
You ignore powers that deny actions fully with no recourse 
(Tome Guardians, Hall of Debate, etc.) and powers of sites that 
restrict travel (The Hidden Place, Coasts, and the Narrow Pass). 

Otherwise, you are affected by persistent powers (Boiling Lake, 
etc.) and give favor to players when prompted to avoid negative 
persistent powers (Toll Roads, etc.). Treat your first phase as 
Wake, second and third as Act, and fourth as Rest. The 
humans choose one level of your power use and permission:

Limited You do not use Action powers, treat When 
Played powers you play as blank, and do not 
allow anything that requires your permission. 
Otherwise, you use powers that cost no favor 
or secrets and that do not discard cards.
Example: You use Keep, but not Horse Archers.

Expanded You use powers and give permission as normal. 
With one human, the human judges when 
you would use a power or give permission to 
meet your interests. With multiple humans, 
you always use powers that harm the human 
who is your Threat, but otherwise the human 
to the right of your Threat makes decisions 
about power use and permission.

Writing the Chronicle as the Winner
If you need to choose a goal reference, choose it at random.  
If you’re an Exile, you do not offer Citizenship.

If you’re the Chancellor, build an edifice in the leftmost site 
you rule where you can build one (topmost such on tie). If there 
are no edifices in the Archive, repair a ruined edifice at the 
leftmost site with one that you rule instead. 

When adding six cards from the Archive, use the suit of the 
built or repaired edifice to determine the most common suit. 
If one was not built or repaired, use the highest Friend instead.


